We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY recommend this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HIGHLY recommend this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a terrific visit at this beautiful boutique hotel. Our spacious room was exquisitely decorated with high end finishes and modern conveniences. The staff is top notch and they went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    959
    213
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
111
707
87
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

You probably heard it before. This is a well-known, beautiful property on the canal.. Just 39 rooms spread over the old building and an annexe. The rooms are small but well decorated , clean and comfortable. All rooms have either a garden or canal view. Staff are great. Warm, friendly and a trove of useful info on the city.
Woud definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel in Amsterdam with a classic decoration (chandeliers and ceiling paintings) and an a impeccable staff. The room and the bathroom (w/ bath) were small, but very clean and pompous as well. Coffee and tea making facilities, such as robe and slippers, were also provided in room. Perfect location, very close to the Anne Frank house, restaurants, coffee shops, stores. Arriving in Central Station you can get a bus to the hotel and then you can go everywhere by foot or by bike, of course.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I really enjoyed staying here. We had a room with a canal view and jacuzzi, a terrific shower, and comfy bed. The hotel is on a main street, within very easy walking distance of all the main tourist sites and some lovely little side streets, great restaurants and good transport links.

Breakfast was delicious and there was even an indoor smoking room, which pleased my other half! The decor is quirky and opulent, and everything is spotless. There is really interesting history to the house. Possibly the only criticism is that the room got hot overnight, though there is airconditioning which we didn't use.

Best of all was the service, which was friendly, warm and couldn't do enough for us. It's not a place to go if you are on a budget, though it's excellent value for money. I would highly recommend a stay at the Toren.

Room Tip: Go for the canal view and jacuzzi combo. Well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A small, boutique hotel right on the canal in Amsterdam. Located just around the corner from the Anne Frank Museum and a 15 minute walk to Central Station - walking distance to museum district as well.
Great room, lovely staff, nice breakfast, little bar for drinks in the evening. It was just perfect! I stayed in the VERY SMALL single room (they only have two of these), but I was forewarned via email about the size of my room. But, it was just perfect for my needs. Everything was clean and neat - the bathroom was small, but very adequate. The small room probably wouldn't be ideal for a large person with a lot of luggage, but it was definitely suitable for me. The staff were very helpful and when I had to cancel one night of my stay I was graciously given a refund.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On top of what in all 5 stars review, we got a gratious 500 € reimbursement from a previous no show, despite clear hotel policies to the contrary. Will be back, hopefully to our silent, glamour, confortable, jacuzzed room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose The Toren because of the high recommendations in Tripadvisor's reviews and the hotel's great location by the canal and near city center. From the first step into your hotel we become more certain that our decision has been right. Never got more polite and considering welcome in a hotel in Europe.

We have booked a small double room with canal view, but there were basically no space to our clothes. We told at the reception our problem and we were offered a larger room from the garden side of the house. There were enough space to our clothes and other things and also a jacuzzi, which was nice.

The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and and very quiet, the bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. The staff was genuine polite and very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and I did even get gluten free bread for breakfast which was also very nice. We would highly recommend The Toren hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.