We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfetto! Best location, top courtesy, romantic environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfetto! Best location, top courtesy, romantic environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

On top of what in all 5 stars review, we got a gratious 500 € reimbursement from a previous no show, despite clear hotel policies to the contrary. Will be back, hopefully to our silent, glamour, confortable, jacuzzed room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    271
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
1,031
118
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We chose The Toren because of the high recommendations in Tripadvisor's reviews and the hotel's great location by the canal and near city center. From the first step into your hotel we become more certain that our decision has been right. Never got more polite and considering welcome in a hotel in Europe.

We have booked a small double room with canal view, but there were basically no space to our clothes. We told at the reception our problem and we were offered a larger room from the garden side of the house. There were enough space to our clothes and other things and also a jacuzzi, which was nice.

The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and and very quiet, the bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. The staff was genuine polite and very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and I did even get gluten free bread for breakfast which was also very nice. We would highly recommend The Toren hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We returned last night from a two day trip to Amsterdam and stayed at The Toren. The hotel is beautiful, the staff so helpful and understandably proud of their hotel. Its very close to the city centre, just around the corner from Anne Franks house so perfectly located. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here and would return without a shadow of a doubt to this city and this hotel. Just as a note of advice, the waiting time for the Anne Frank house is much longer than indicated on the signs, don't be fooled!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The people at the Toren seem to be very nervous about the "room for one person" as indeed it is quite small. There are actually two of them, one in the main building and one in the annex. I would suggest the one in the main building even tho the annex one is slightly bigger. The annex is about ten houses away, and that makes it more distant from Breakfast and the tram system. And the room in the main building has a lift opposite so there is no climbing stairs with suitcases.
So in addition to all the good things that others have said about this wonderful hotel, don't be afraid about booking the small room for one (if there is only one of you) as it is fine for the job (yes it is snug) has a comfy chair and an industrial Nespresso machine. And good value

Room Tip: If just one of you, maybe the "small" rooms will suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!
Do you remember when you were a child and would imagine sleeping in a cloud? well that is how comfortable the bed was.
The room was beautifully decorated and super clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful
Breakfast was great too.
Its close to the centre of Amsterdam but still in a quite spot.
I loved my stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
618 reviews 618 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Perfectly placed in the old centre of the city on one of the main (residential) "grachts"; located in several old merchants homes on the canal. Our room - in a separate building was lovely - furnished in a gentle/old-fashioned/yet fashionable/comfortable style with lots of rich fabrics, colours and wall coverings. Hospitality was outstanding; staff were delightful. Excellent breakfast. A real gem in the city. Why would anyone want to stay in a big chain hotel when you can stay here??

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you take the train into Amsterdam you can walk to The Toren, if you don't mind dragging your luggage over cobblestone streets for a few blocks. We found it to be rather charming, and it gave us an up close and personal view of the canals as we walked to the hotel. It is on a residential street in a very quiet neighborhood. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive, almost too much so if you like a little alone time. The second floor room we had was gorgeous, with a nice whirlpool tub and a great coffee maker for the morning. The only negative we experienced was not being able to use the outdoor courtyard after 10 PM, because we were not on the first floor. So if you like to sit outside at night, ask for a first floor room. They offered to rent bikes to us but admitted we could get them cheaper at the bike store down the street - so we did. They did say the next time we wanted to stay here, give them a call directly and they would give us a good deal rather than reserve over the internet - so think about that if you want to stay here. I would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room with an outside patio to get most use out of courtyard at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.