We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at the Toren with my fiancé to celebrate our engagement. The staff at the Toren were exceptional and helped us plan our days, get museum tickets and dinner reservations, and also supplied us with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our engagement. The location of the Toren was also very much to our liking as it is in the quiet, cozy Jordaan district which was a lot of fun to stroll through at night, and away from the noise of the city center. We were in a standard room which was pretty small, but if you are exploring the city for most of the day then it is not much of an issue. We would highly recommend this to friends and family and if we ever come back in Amsterdam we will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    226
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
776
92
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Most likely the best hotel staff I've ever experienced. Right near the Anne Frank House, the Jordaan, and a wide assortment of top restaurants. Their section of Keizersgracht is one of the quietest and most scenic parts of the entire city but is also right near the city center. The view at night of the canal is incredible. The staff takes the time to review each customer and treats you with as much attention as if you were staying at a tiny bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view right on the water are well worth it. If you don't like a small but cozy sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The only reason I'm giving them 5/5 is because TripAdvisor won't let me give them 6/5. Not only is this the finest hotel in Amsterdam, it ranks among the best hotels I have ever stayed in. First of all, you could not possibly find a better location in Amsterdam. It's on the edge of the quiet Jordaan neighborhood, but only a 5 minute walk from Dam Square. The staff was incredible - they made us feel like royalty. The room was spacious with trendy decor, comfy bed, very clean; the bathroom was simple, but it got the job done, and again, very clean. The bar downstairs is a quiet spot to have a drink and play a game of chess. The continental breakfast is perfect for Americans who want eggs and bacon with their coffee. Great restaurants within one block (de Luwte). I can not recommend the Toren enough.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Central location for exploring Amsterdam by foot.
Dark, but tasteful and cosy decor - really original - we liked it!
Varied breakfast.
Free wifi, unusually fast.
In-room Nespresso machine - drink all you want. Good for coffee addicts like me.
Most of all: A staff that will go out of their way to help you.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for an anniversary so wanted something better than average; staff very friendly and helpful, room on the canal was excellent and the service good. We did not use them to book visits or restaurants, but it is clear that they do this very efficiently. Location is first class for any of the major sights, whilst the street is quiet for a city.

Room Tip: As a canal side hotel, only a few and the more expensive will have a canal view. Ask them or check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I spent 5 days at the Toren. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and clean sheets. The breakfast at the hotel is worth the $14 as the buffet has great food selections. The location of the hotel is fantastic. You are within walking distance to all major attractions. I didn't use the trams at all during my stay as I was able to walk everywhere. The staff at the Toren are very friendly and very professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Five star experience from start to finish. This boutique hotel is central, but in a quiet neighborhood. All the staff were friendly, helpful and customer focused. The room, restaurant, and bar were historic and had excellent atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.