We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic birthday break!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic birthday break!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Toren was just amazing! Just came back today after having spent 3 nights there to celebrate my 50th birthday. The hotel was excellent, our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated with a jacuzzi bath. The staff were extremely helpful from the time we walked in to the time we left this morning. They really made us feel special and very welcoming. They were also very knowledgeable about the city and recommended some great places to eat. Overall, we couldn't have stayed in a better hotel. We would highly recommend...the Toren is an excellent choice!! Thank you...we will visit you soon. Ian and Sofia x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    280
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
138
1,069
121
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hubby & I stayed here on 6th March for one night only. Our room was very chic with a Jacuzzi bath in the room, together shower & loo. Bed very comfortable. It was lovely to wake to the sound of birds from the garden (we were in a rear room). Everything was just as we'd hoped. Bar a little expensive and we didn't have breakfast there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a top hotel.

Would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a modern, boutique hotel close to attractions.

Room Tip: All depends on your budget and preference. We chose a rear room overlooking garden which was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Even before we came to the hotel, the staff was extremely helpful. We emailed the hotel to find out the best way to get to the hotel and also which train station to use to go to Paris. They were extremely helpful with even suggesting a service to pick us up at the airport or taxi. They booked the service for us to get to the hotel. The staff was so helpful. The rooms were extremely comfortable Breakfast was wonderful and the staff attentive. Their suggestions for restaurants also fantastic. This is a place highly recommended and would stay at again in a moment

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Toren is class. Rooms opulent, comfy, beautiful- we had a canal room- very scenic-quiet location. Staff as nice as can be. Easy walk to sites and Tram. Breakfast is a Feast- fresh strawberries- the Works- yummy. Bar at lunch or dinner had very tasty items- my favorite was BitterBalls- a local specialty. If you want a Super Nice spot- the Toren is it!!!

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I only stayed here one night of my stay in Amsterdam and wished I had been there the entire time. My room was the smallest in the hotel, but still great and totally sufficient for one person. The bath was very modern and comfy, almost as big as the rest of the room itself. The location really can't be beat - right on the canal rings and central to everything. They also have a great bar on the first floor, and wonderful staff. Will stay here on any return trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Love how we could take a nice stroll along the channel. The location is so convenient and I also loved the fact that the hotel was so progressive in its design. The hotel is truly unique with its location and the fact that Amsterdam has no hotel like it. People looking for a cozy and fun stay are at the right place at the toren.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff was exceptional in every way. The feel of the Toren with its decor and cozy atmosphere made you feel comfortable as soon as you entered the front door. Staff went above and beyond to find the best restaurant suited for our party of 8. Had a great time. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Would stay in the main building.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.