We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Great Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After spending several days sleeping on a lumpy mattress at a hotel in another city, sleeping on the bed at The Toren was like being hugged by a cloud. The location is perfect for all of the activities available within the city. The decor is wonderfully historic and the staff are absolutely wonderful. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    294
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
156
1,125
131
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at The Toren and I must say the staff here are most friendliest staff I have ever met. Nothing is too much for them and the bath is to die for after a long day walking around Amsterdam.

When you walk in the decor is sultry but beautiful. The rooms are very clean and the beds are so comfortable that you don't want to get out. For me it is the little things in the rooms that count like the decent coffee and the slippers that I need after the long days.

It is on the higher end of the price scale but is in the nice part of Amsterdam but it is only a short walk from Dam square.

If you a looking for a romantic get away the Toren is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to Amsterdam and were lucky enough to have stayed at the Toren. The hotel is exquisite, décor beautiful, atmosphere superb, staff helpful, friendly and professional. Eric and Petra Toren, hotel owners, have created a perfect oasis from which to enjoy the wonderful city. Their attention to detail and all the extra finishing touches make all the difference.
On a practical note, the hotel is in a great central location and the beautifully decorated rooms have every amenity you could need for a comfortable stay.
We can't wait to return in the summer, you must try it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My first trip to Amsterdam in more than 45 years. I chose The Toren because it is #1 on TripAdvisor. The rating is warranted! What a lovely hotel. I stayed a week beginning Jan 18th. The hotel is charming, the staff especially attentive. They reached out to me before I arrived to make sure I had a ticket to the Ann Frank house so I didn't have to stand in line. They also upgraded my room! The best sleep I've had in months.
The style is edgy and 1930s at the same time. Very intimate. Good bar and breakfast.
I highly recommend the hotel and plan to return.
Great location. Never needed anything but the tram.
Just amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Toren on 7th January 2014 for one night only on my partner's birthday. What can I say?

Location - perfect
Staff - friendly, polite, professional, very helpful, they upgraded us!
The Hotel - great hotel, good facilities
The Room - good size, nice shower, espresso machine!
Would I recommend to a friend? - Yes
Will we be coming back to the Toren - absolutely!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

What more can i say, located in a quiet spot near Jordaan, a short walk to dam square/royal palace, great rooms, fairly good size for amsterdam, well decorated and great soap (which my GF went running around trying to buy from somewhere)

Room service is delivered from elsewhere and is delicious! Bar downstairs had good guys and were good for a chat.

You can easily step out to a good cafe or maybe up the road to the d'arendsnest for some amazing dutch beers.

I stayed here cause Hotel Fita was doing some renovations and now its a hard choice between the two for when i go back!!

Room Tip: facing the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at the Toren with my husband late last year to celebrate our wedding anniversary and first night away from our baby since moving to Amsterdam.
We had the most perfect time at the hotel and felt compelled to write my first review on trip advisor. The staff were amazing, so friendly and knew of our situation so wished us well on our anniversary, nice personal touches!
Then the room, wow, the decor is super luxe and the bath was divine! We could have stayed in there forever!
If you fancy a weekend or night away in pure luxury, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,434 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.