We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My boyfriend bought me to this hotel over New year. The room was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, with a hot breakfast and continental, with delicious fresh juices. Our room was cleaned beautifully every day. The staff especially the bar staff, were kind, courteous, helpful and good fun, they also make some brilliant cocktails. Room service was tasty. I loved my Jacuzzi bath, I have enjoyed two baths/showers a day, and the waterfall shower was brilliant too.Overall this has been the most fantastic new year I have ever had, the elegance and overall beauty of this hotel has made this trip completely over the top fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    238
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
119
832
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The Toren is a charming boutique hotel near the Anne Frank House. The staff are friendly & helpful. It's a great base for exploring Amsterdam on foot.The room was very comfortable, with a Nespresso coffee machine. The hotel's bar is very cosy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A perfect respite in a perfect location with a terrific staff. We had two rooms in the annex, a few doors down from the main building. The canal view rooms are wonderful but the best feature of The Toren is the staff. From check-in to departure, the entire staff had an attitude of making sure everything was right. When we needed a bag of ice for a minor injury, we got it delivered to the room in minutes, with a tape measure for determining a knee brace, and a call to the nearest pharmacy to locate the brace. Do ask for restaurant recommendations at the front desk. There are several excellent restaurants in close proximity and the staff at The Toren will direct you and provide great insights. The hotel is also close to the Anne Frank house which is a must see and a short distance to the office for canal tours. I hope we can return to Amsterdam some day and when we do we will certainly stay at The Toren.

Room Tip: The canal view room is superb. The garden view room is nice but not of much use in the winter. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel Toren was as perfect as we could of ever have wished. Placed in the nicer area of the city, it's just around the corner from Anne Franks house, the canal boat trips and some excellent cafés and restaurants - this area has it all including peace and quiet! The hotel is as advertised, a boutique style accommodation that is very clean,well looked after and extremely comfortable - our large double room was perfect and had a marvellous jacuzzi bath, very comfortable bedding and complimentary expresso machine! We feel that it most definitely deserves the number one spot to stay if you are visiting Amsterdam! It's right close to everything and the staff were so attentive - the welcome of champagne, strawberries and chocolates in our room was just a wonderful surprise for us, so our thanks go to everyone at the Toren as our time in Amsterdam was most definitely made the best by staying there!!!

Room Tip: The large double room with jacuzzi was a nice space for two - not too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Wow..what can we say. Stayed at the Toren in August and early September in two different rooms. First the Royal Suite is spectacular..few steps from the main hotel but a great room. You should know that if you are "older" or have difficulty with stairs, the bathroom is down a very narrow staircase...vey cool...but challenging,. The second time we stayed in a Junior Suite off the garden...again fantastic. The staff very professional and accomodating...GREAT location..on the canal...two blocks from Ann Frank and the tram (which goes everywhere). Canal tours just around the corner. The hotel itself is a bit eclectic but a cool eclectic. The price is not inexpensive but we felt priced very well and much less than other 5 star places we have stayed in (and this is 5 star). HIGHLY Recommend!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Service
The hotel staffs were very attentive, friendly and helpful with our needs. Everyone from the reception, bar guy and door man all were very pleasant while dealing with us. In fact, we were given a complementary buffet breakfast during our 2 nights stay as a courtesy from the hotel. We were so surprised and happy with such gracious gesture from the hotel.

Breakfast
Breakfast selection was great. Providing standard selection of continental breakfast such as fruits, yogurt, fresh breads, croissants, yogurt, salmons,

Room Tip: Try to request room at the main building. Easier for you to get your breakfast and smoking room. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had a memorable 3 night stay here. It is centrally located close to the Jordaan district and 15 min walk from Central Station. The bar is a perfect place to unwind and meet friends for drinks. The rooms have character, and the garden patio is perfect for a trying out the various smoking options available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.