We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARY POPPINS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“MARY POPPINS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I say "Mary Poppins" because this hotel was 'practically perfect in every way'. Had a long layover with my bf in amsterdam and he chose this based on reviews. Only a 15 min walk from train station, def use a map so you don't walk out of your way- all cobble sidewalks on main road. At check in the two women there were so helpful and nice (one studied abroad in istanbul- Our destination, for a couple of months and offered to help us find places to eat) and they upgraded our room which included buffet breakfast! What a beautiful room! The bell boy helped us w/our bags and gave us directions on how to use the lights (lots of buttons). Great tub, awesome pillows, soft towels, heated towel rack7, AND they have a hair dryer for u!! Buffet breakfast is like from 8-10 (?) and before we left we had a FILLING breakfast. Fresh salmon, eggs, mushrooms, bacon, fresh fruit and strawberries, there was much more so i think they were trying to accommodate all tastes- WELL DONE :) They even bottle their own water (kind of hardcore) This hotel def knows how to take care of travelers far from home. Anne Frank house is less than a 5 min walk, and the hotel is right near some small businesses (food, shopping, etc). Great pics near the canals too. The stuffed animal in the pics is COCKY, the university of South Carolina's mascot. He just couldn't stop being in the pics, i apologize. He loved the toren too! ;)

Room Tip: We were on the 1st fl and we never heard anything outside or in the hallways. Our room didnt face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    226
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
776
92
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Amazing hotel, The staff will do anything to keep you happy, very clean. The best part was the hotel doesn't have a kitchen but you can tell the staff you fancy a ham pizza and within the hour they deliver a pizza to your room.
Bathroom was also unbelievable.

I would Definitely say pay the little extra cash for the best boutique hotel in the world 2012 *which they have certificates in the bar to prove this fact*

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

It sounds too good to be true, but I cannot fault this hotel.

My girlfriend and I picked up a last minute reservation last week (Dec 9th) for a three night stay. The service was friendly, helpful and very proactive.

Location, ideal for walking anywhere in the City Centre.

Rooms, well appointed and clean.

Overall feel, personal. Right down to the owners interaction with the guests before, during and even after the stay.

Highly recommend this boutique hotel that is entirely in keeping with the city and country's welcoming nature.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Toren is in a great location. If you arrive into Amsterdam Central Station the hotel is a 15 min walk . it is practically around the corner from the Anne Frank Museum and a stroll to the 9 Streets area with its cafes,shops etc.
The hotel itself is just lovely.We loved the decor which is so refreshingly different and unique. We had a room in the main building which was so comfortable and had everything that you would need for a few nights break. I slept so well at The Toren.
Breakfast was served in the comfortable bar area and was delicious . Having spent a full hour attempting to find a place to have lunch in a packed Amsterdam we returned to The Toren and enjoyed a lovely relaxing meal and very tasty food.
A special thanks to all of the staff who really helped to make our stay enjoyable. They were very friendly, knowledgable and attentive .
We loved this hotel .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

For so many reasons this hotel is special. Admittedly we were in one of the more expensive rooms, the Executive Garden Suite which was amazing but the whole atmosphere of the place and attentive service of staff were outstanding. If you're looking for a special place for a romantic retreat in Amsterdam then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location is fantastic, as is the hotel and its staff. The intimate size of the hotel (just 32 rooms, apparently soon expanding with another two) made Amsterdam more personal; charming lobby and bar. And the decidedly over-the-top decor makes it very memorable.

Our room was very spacious, with a view of the canal, as promised. However, we were in an annex, about six buildings up the street from the lobby; you do miss the flavor of the hotel there. The room was grandly decorated, though some elements (carpet, black paint) were in need of touch-up/re-do. And, since there was plenty of space, why no dresser...causing patrons to clutter up their surroundings by living out of their suitcases?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Toren in December 2013 to celebrate our 10th anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better location. This is probably our favourite city break hotel we've ever stayed in.

It's location is great; just around the corner from Anne Frank's house, right on the canal and just a short walk to Dam with a tram stop just at the end of the road for those further-away sites.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are kitted out really well. We found the room a bit hot and the bed a bit soft but that is just personal preference. The jacussi was glorious!

Every single member of staff was friendly and went out of their way to help and make us feel welcome. Everyone congratulated us on our anniversary and we really appreciated the special touch of a room upgrade and champagne celebration.

We would thoroughly recommend the Toren for a romantic break in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.