We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little touches that make the hotel great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's the little touches that make the hotel great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Toren in December 2013 to celebrate our 10th anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better location. This is probably our favourite city break hotel we've ever stayed in.

It's location is great; just around the corner from Anne Frank's house, right on the canal and just a short walk to Dam with a tram stop just at the end of the road for those further-away sites.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are kitted out really well. We found the room a bit hot and the bed a bit soft but that is just personal preference. The jacussi was glorious!

Every single member of staff was friendly and went out of their way to help and make us feel welcome. Everyone congratulated us on our anniversary and we really appreciated the special touch of a room upgrade and champagne celebration.

We would thoroughly recommend the Toren for a romantic break in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    250
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
899
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a large double room which was very nicely decorated with a nice bed and lovely shower!

Following the recommendations we also had some cocktails in the bar before heading out for the evening, beautiful cocktails and lovely bar!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for two nights to celebrate my partners 40th birthday. Once we stepped through the door nothing was too much trouble. As it was a special birthday we got a room up grade, complementary moet, chocs, strawberries, cocktails and half price breakfast!!! Every member of staff make you feel so welcome and all are very helpful at all times. The location is perfect in a lovely area and within walking distance of all the sights and just ten minutes walk from central station. Its just around the corner from Anne Frank house and several lovely cafes and restaurants. We sampled Max, the pancake house , hook and lastage all were fab. Petra and Eric you have a lot to be proud of thanks to you and your dedicated team for making a special event memorable we cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hello Dear Toren staff,

We spent 26-28-th of november in Amsterdam and in The Toren. Girls at the reception were just a delight to talk to. Every question had a answer and every request had a solution.
Luggage was carried into our room and introduction was given on how to operate the jacuzzi in our room :)
Got our departure tickets printed. No problems at all. Room was perfect, especially the coffee machine, because my girlfriend likes a good cup of coffee in the morning ;) staff at the bar was just lovely and friendly during our evening drinks.
Definately THE hotel in Amsterdam, where to go on our next visit! :)
Wish you all the best and keep up the good work!

Kind regards
Marko

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

What an absoultle pleasure it was stopping in this grade A hotel, really couldnt fault it at all. The decor is extreemly lavish and very excessive which was much to my taste, if i wanted dowdy and bland i could stay at home. I couldnt enthuse about this place enough. we stopped for two nights over a weekend for the girlfriends birthday as a suprise and i think i surpassed myself in choice. The room i booked had the two person hot tub and garden view. it was a slight walk from the main building but this does not detract at all. I ordered the vip package which included a bottle of champers, chocolate and strawberrys for arrival. took breakfast on the first morning, again first class and a huge range of choice well worth the money. amsterdam is an excellent city, its not just about sex and drugs but thats easy found if you want it. all of the staff could not have been more helpful than they were and do the hotel proud. The hotel is only a stones throw away from the anne frank house which sets you up nicely for exploring the city.

thanks very much to the toren and all the wonderful people who work there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This place is gorgeous, and in the best part of town. Comes highly recommended. Sebastian showed me around, took me to my room, in the annex building. The room was big, bed was enormous and all very clean and very comfortable. Sebastian made me an award winning "Sebastian cocktail" - it was lush! I only stayed one night on business, but will definitely come back for a longer visit. Thank you to the owners Eric and Petra Toren and congratulations for such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at The Toren for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff are warm and friendly, we felt very welcomed. We had a gorgeous, cosy, yet luxurious room and I appreciated the Nespresso machine to kick start my mornings! Breakfast was delicious and we loved the fresh fruit and Dutch crepe pancakes. Thank you to all the staff at the Toren, we miss you and Amsterdam! Groetjes,Yvonne

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.