We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that is the perfect host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hotel that is the perfect host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in Amsterdam and you are in walking distance of all the sights. The staff and owners are very focused on their guests ensuring that any issue (small or big) is addressed immediately. We were in their bar and the server overheard one couple talk about a faulty jacuzzi and they immediately alerted the front desk who then addressed the issue to the surprise of the guests. The staff always demonstrated that they care about their guests whether it was conversing with their guests on their day or through providing recommendations. Amsterdam is a very beautiful city and the Toren is the perfect host.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms as they are close to the passageway to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    213
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
111
707
87
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic privately owned hotel in a great location. Great location for a romantic break. Sumptuous bedding and decor in the rooms. Recommend room with spa bath for that little bit extra. Would definitely go back when next in Amsterdam. Great restaurants just around the corner as well

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was warmly greeted upon checking in and presented with a map of Amsterdam and given useful travel tips. My single room was small (120 sq ft), but the hotel had already informed me of this beforehand so it wasn't a surprise. Despite having a super single bed, the room actually felt spacious enough (bathroom was a little cramped), largely due to the ceiling height (close to 4m, I'd reckon). Welcome chocolate/strawberries and umbrellas at the door were a nice touch; the furnishings and fixtures ooze old world luxury. My bed was a little soft and creaked quite a bit though. Good enough location - everything is generally within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just had the most wonderful weekend in this fantastic, friendly and welcoming environment. located alongside the pretty canal's close to the central of amsterdam. The room was so impressive, make sure you have the hot tube it's amazing!!! Planning to return next year, if you want to impress your partner, wife etc this is the place to go.

Room Tip: One with a hot tub!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I were unexpectedly stranded at the Amsterdam airport for 24 hours. I checked trip advisor and found this hotel. We called and reserved a room. Took the train from airport to central station, very easy walk to hotel. Extremely friendly, helpful and attentive staff -- gave us good suggestions about how to spend the afternoon (canal tour, location was a block away), recommendations for a casual restaurant for dinner (we had no luggage and were informally addressed), etc. The location of the hotel is perfect -- close Anne Frank museum, shopping, and good restaurants. Our room was in the annex, very well equipped, clean and nice size, esp by European standards. The decor is a bit over the top, but that is the style! The bar in the main hotel is very warm and friendly. Really a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just stayed here for the weekend and I can't reccommend The Toren hotel highly enough. Elegant, cool, sophisticated and with impeccable service.

Great location, phenomenal staff and a beautiful hotel. Go for a room with a hot tub, you won't be disappointed.

We will definitely be visiting this hotel again, I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel, pleasant, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Close to the train station, sites, cafes and shopping. We were right there. Staff was very helpful and informative. We stayed in the annex which was fine, room was bigger than I anticipated. Toiletries were classy, bathroom was nice, clean and comfortable. Stay was worth the price. Our room had no view but it was ok because we were out all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.