We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, staff, and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, staff, and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my 1st trip to Amsterdam and was lucky to have stayed here. The location is amazing. A couple blocks from Ann Frank house to give you an idea.

The hotel itself is amazingly elegant.

My room was a little small due to my American standards, but when in it I was comfortable and cozy.

The breakfast was superb, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    285
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
147
1,098
126
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

From start to finish, the staff were a delight and incredibly helpful. The old-style, luxury "bordello" feel to the public rooms was cozy. The rooms were excellent, Delightfully furnished, well maintained and cleaned - and the chocolates and strawberries in the room on arrival were excellent and appreciated. 50% discount on a well-stocked breakfast due to booking with "Easytobook" was also appreciated.

Stephen & Marion Myers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

All the many and consistently good reviews about The Toren ate correct--it is a wonderful hotel, in great location, of the right size, and with outstanding service, including looking after gluten-free needs at breakfast. It deserves its high ranking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed here in nov with my wife and my brother, it was very close to the grey area coffe shop, our favorite coffe shop in amsterdam, and also right next to anne frank house, was in walking distance to pretty much everything and provided fresh hot towels everyday! the breakfast was also very good and the housekeeper cleaned everyday and organized for us! The hotel also provided umbrellas on the days it rained, and has a small private bar to catch a quick drink before heading out to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed there Oct1st-3rd this year. What can I say except absolutley outstanding in all respects. Beautiful, excellent service, great location on the canal!! The room was beautiful . I was so happy to have a smoking room as they can be hard to come by. It was wonderful to just sit, relax and watch over the canal in the morning and evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climping
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arranged as a birthday treat this boutique hotel lives up to reviews and more importantly expectations. Lavish and luxurious you have the feeling of being spoilt on a personal level from arrival to leaving. Beds are incredibly comfortable, the coffee making machines best we have experienced worlwide and the jacuzzi bath with lighting effect pure decadence! Towels and linen are top drawer and the room as one would expect was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent ( though might have been hotter) and the location perfect. Quiet area near restaurants and bars whilst just a few minute walk from all main attractions. Staff were attentive whilst unobtrusive and arranged cold milk each evening at no extra charge. Highly recommended and were we to return would definately choose this hotel. Thankyou toren!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Toren is simply georgeous! With this I am referring mainly to the décor. However, we were also very impressed with the service. We stayed here for only 2 nights at the end of September after visiting Paris and arrived with nothing but a small backpack as our luggage was lost by Air France. I’d like to thank the friendly front desk girls for their continuing help during our stay, checking with the airline on the progress of locating our luggage, providing us with various mobile phone and iPad chargers, and offering free breakfast, which was amazing and served in a luxurious and cosy environment. Our room was located in the annex a couple of houses down, was beautifully decorated and had a Nespresso machine. The location is also very handy and charming with all the pretty tree-lined grachten (canals), cobblestone streets, bridges, bicycles, little shops and cafes. In term of sightseeing, I recommend the Anne Frank House, which is literally around the corner and has a hop-on-hop-off boat stop. The boat trip costs around 10 Euros and takes you to many tourist sites and museums around town. We highly recommend the Toren and would love to visit again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,346 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.