We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great stay at this Hotel. The room was spacious and the view of the canal was just perfect. It was walking distance to everything and specially close to the Anne Frank house. I couldn't ask for better service. Next time I visit Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    238
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
119
832
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very relaxing stay

Most welcoming staff, and lovely bar area with good drinks menu, beautifully decorated.

Room itself was on the small side, but had king size bed that was very comfortable.

Only slight comment would be the actual toilet wasn't quite as high spec as rest of bathroom, but I'm really struggling to find anything else negative about the hotel!

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spectacular in all criteria. The hotel itself is unique, over-the-top and gorgeous. The services of the Front Desk, both before and during, were exceptional. The room was lush and comfortable--by necessity rather small (a very old canal-side building, beautifully redone), but filled with thoughtful details of the most luxurious kind....details that could not have been further from a Hilton, for example. There was even a 17th century stained-glass window! The reasonably-priced breakfast was complete--fabulous scrambled eggs---and delicious. The service manager and also the head housekeeper responded instantly to a joking reference about a slightly-dusty chandelier! The front desk---comprised of young women completely proficient in English--- saved me endless problems with the airlines. The location was perfect---the neighborhood interesting-yet-safe and very close to all tram lines. The Toren was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and I hope to get again to Amsterdam and to this hotel, which deservedly won an award in 2012 for the best city boutique hotel in the world!

Room Tip: All rooms are different, but I imagine all are as lovely as the one I stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

All the good reviews you read are correct and I can't add much more except we had the most fantastic stay and couldn't fault a single thing. This hotel is in the best part of Amsterdam, you can walk out the door, around the corner and find a lovely restaurant, interesting shops, visitor attractions and wonderful canal views. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the hotel, in fact they go out of their way to anticipate anything you might need.
Watch out for that naughty barman Christophe who mixes a mean cocktail and even if you don't know what you want he'll find one for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have access to a lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands BWI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm not certain I can do any better job expanding beyond what previous contributors have shared but I simply can't let the opportunity pass of throwing my hat into the ring in the hopes that I can assist the Toren in achieving an even higher ranking. I could not agree more as one previous reviewer stated that the Toren should serve as a model for all boutique hotels.. I booked our visit based upon previous reviews and immediately received exemplary email communication and advice regarding transport options from the train station including the valuable feedback to only utilize certified taxis and the specific amount that we should negotiate for the taxi fare... Upon arrival we were greeted by the young enthusiastic staff and our check in process was flawless.. In addition we were surprised with the wonderful news that we had been upgraded to a special room in the Annex just a few doors down.. This turned out to be a fantastic surprise... Our bellman collected our bags and escorted us to our room which was HUGE with panoramic views of the canal through massive floor to ceiling windows and decorated just as you would envision a trendy high end boutique Hotel in Amsterdam might be outfitted... Edgy, cool, plush and modern with just a hint of "elegant bordello" ;) .... The bathroom was beautifully done with the most luscious jetted tub in the middle of the room big enough for two... The ceilings were high and dramatic and the bed was large and inviting. We were greeted with a complimentary chilled bottle of Moët, a bowl of fresh strawberries and a heaping bowl of chocolates... In addition we were provided with a voucher for two free cocktails at the beautiful bar downstairs... After freshening up for the evening we went down to enjoy our drinks and had the good fortune to chat with the night manager who went so far as to recommend a local restaurant and even stroll with us personally down the road and across the bridge to where we could see the restaurant in the distance! Who does that? Our arrival experience was exemplary and on top of it all the location could not have been better... We were on a quiet residential street within minutes of everything just a short lovely stroll away.. Breakfast the next day was included in the price of the room and consisted of a wonderful assortment of both hot and cold options in an elegantly appointed entry salon area located off the bar and reception area... We truly could not have had a better experience and the value for the money was extraordinary and worth every single dime... Do not hesitate to make the Toren your first choice while visiting Amsterdam... Their rave reviews are well deserved!

Room Tip: In the annex building.. Overlooking the canal with the jetted tub! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After reading TA reviews of The Toren I decided to book here for our stay in Amsterdam. This should be the model for all boutique hotels. The staff is friendly, helpful, and the service could not be better. The sumptuous breakfast is excellent. Location is perfect for walking to most attractions. This is a pricey hotel but worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First things, first; this place is not cheap. But it is worth every penny.

It wont be to everyone's taste, it's all baroque high camp crushed velvet draped curtains, textured wallpapers, and theatrically moody low lighting. I loved it. The (young glamorous) staff are both super friendly and super professional. I enjoyed watching the barman easing from chatting with the lads at the bar to chatting with the elderly American couple enjoying a night cap.

I was in the annex building, which please note, is not a bad thing. The decoration is identical in both buildings and it is just a couple of doors down.

Breakfast is a bit of a squeeze, but the room is so lovely you don't really mind weaving between tables. Great crispy bacon and delicious creamy scrambled eggs, and all the usual 'continental' hams and cheeses and bakery delights.

I would have no hesitation in going back. Loved it.

Room Tip: Room 414 (in the annex) had no view, looking just into an internal light well. A perfectly nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.