We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location & friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The Toren was the first stop on our vacation, and provided a wonderful introduction to Amsterdam. The location of the hotel is terrific, right in the heart of the Jordaan and Western Canals (the best part of the city in our opinion). The staff at The Toren were extremely friendly and helpful, and provided great tips on visiting some of the more popular sites, such as Anne Frank Huis. Although the room we had was very small, and the decor may not be to everyone's taste, the view over the canals more than made up for it! The bathroom was large (including a spa bath) and well appointed, with the exception of space for toiletries etc. over the sink - a very minor inconvenience. Breakfast in the hotel provided a good selection of hot and cold items, and was quite reasonable at €14. The terrace garden at the back of the hotel provides a lovely quiet space to enjoy the afternoon sunshine. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    281
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
141
1,071
121
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in a great location. Close to everything. Phenomenally gracious staff. Had a problem with our air conditioning unit, that took some time to repair - hotel gave us free breakfast for the duration of our stay as compensation. We asked for nothing. My wife was too enamored with the color scheme of our room, but other than that our stay was great. If we return to Amsterdam, the Toren will be first among our choices.

Room Tip: Check the photos on the hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved our one night stay at this hotel. We arrived before check-in but our bags were stowed and the receptionist gave us a map with our laundry list of items for the day circled. The hotel was in a great location, very close and while we did take the tram, we found we could have walked quite a bit of it. Overall, a great stay and highly recommended. We wished we were staying a few more nights!

Room Tip: We had an upgraded room with the jacuzzi....a little odd if you are not a couple but there was a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Södermalm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at the Toren for the second part of our honeymoon. We booked the Garden Cottage and we were really happy with it!

Had a greeting from the owners in our room with two complementary drink vouchers upon arrival. Our friends also purchased a luxury package for us with champagne and treats, all very nice presented!

The room was luxury at it's best! Super nice jacuzzi for two, steam shower for two, big high bed and heavy velvet drapes in the entire room gave it the luxurious feeling. Glass sealing above the seating area that provided a lot of light. The walls facing the garden where made of glass but with a lot of drapes so we could get some privacy. The glass sealing then provided all the day light needed. We also had our own private little out door seating area!

The only downside we had was that we did not get any cleaning at all. The first morning we forgot to put the cleaning tag up, the second morning it had blown of the handle (since it was out doors) so we only got some new fresh towels and they sent a person to remove our dishes. Third morning we headed of to the airport.

Staff was friendly and gave us a map with all the sites in Amsterdam, we went to the Canal museum thanks to the recommendations and really loved it! Breakfast buffet was nice. Good variety of items and luxurious table settings.

Perfect location close to the 9 streets, Anne Frank House and the best restaurant in Amsterdam, Vlaming, is just around the corner from the Toren!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Toren the last week of July 2013.
Position, amazing easy access by foot to every site you would want to visit in Amsterdam, tram system also easily accessible . Service, it is hard to describe how wonderful the service at The Toren is -
from your first step in the front door to when you leave, there is always a smiling helpful well informed member of Staff right there ready for your questions, We arrived at 8pm on a Thursday
we were meet by a wonderful team of Ladies at reception (I am very sorry as I have mislaid the paper I wrote every bodies name on) however this is not important as each and every Lady at reception was helpful, and patient, finding you the best possible solution answer to your queries.
Worth mentioning, after we checked in we were meet by Sebastian at the Bar, who asked if we had special requests for Breakfast, my husband explained he had food allergies and did they have Spelt bread, Sebastian was not sure what that was, after asking us, he made sure by 8am next morning it was available. Michael who also worked in the Bar area, was also so helpful with what was suitable best way to go and on our return always remembered where we had gone.
The Toren is a delight and a wonderful experience, a boutique hotel, in the true sense of a home away from home, we look forward to staying there again next year when we return to Amsterdam
If travelling to Amsterdam, don't bother looking else where, they have it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building. I would request that, as there is no reception in second building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent four nights here. The hotel is chic but elegant - very nice room and could not be better located. The beautiful Western Canal Ring is quiet and away from the tourist area around Central Station, but is within walking distance of anything in the central city. Nice shops and restaurants are nearby as is access to the tram system. As other reviews have said, the staff is unbelievable. Never have we had such friendliness and helpfulness. They cheerfully met every one of our needs, from suggesting local restaurants, arranging transportation to the airport, offering to arrange tickets to the museums (we already had them) to always inquiring about what we did each day, did we enjoy it, etc. etc. etc. Everything was done with a smile and they all made us feel that we were their only concern. If we ever return to Amsterdam, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of the main building on the north side. It was very quiet. The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

To the owners and staff of The Toren Hotel thank you so much for making our stay and anniversary so special for us!
Amazing and unique hotel in one of the best locations in Amsterdam, Mr & Mrs H, London.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.