We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Toren the last week of July 2013.
Position, amazing easy access by foot to every site you would want to visit in Amsterdam, tram system also easily accessible . Service, it is hard to describe how wonderful the service at The Toren is -
from your first step in the front door to when you leave, there is always a smiling helpful well informed member of Staff right there ready for your questions, We arrived at 8pm on a Thursday
we were meet by a wonderful team of Ladies at reception (I am very sorry as I have mislaid the paper I wrote every bodies name on) however this is not important as each and every Lady at reception was helpful, and patient, finding you the best possible solution answer to your queries.
Worth mentioning, after we checked in we were meet by Sebastian at the Bar, who asked if we had special requests for Breakfast, my husband explained he had food allergies and did they have Spelt bread, Sebastian was not sure what that was, after asking us, he made sure by 8am next morning it was available. Michael who also worked in the Bar area, was also so helpful with what was suitable best way to go and on our return always remembered where we had gone.
The Toren is a delight and a wonderful experience, a boutique hotel, in the true sense of a home away from home, we look forward to staying there again next year when we return to Amsterdam
If travelling to Amsterdam, don't bother looking else where, they have it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building. I would request that, as there is no reception in second building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 58Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Farmington, MI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent four nights here. The hotel is chic but elegant - very nice room and could not be better located. The beautiful Western Canal Ring is quiet and away from the tourist area around Central Station, but is within walking distance of anything in the central city. Nice shops and restaurants are nearby as is access to the tram system. As other reviews have said, the staff is unbelievable. Never have we had such friendliness and helpfulness. They cheerfully met every one of our needs, from suggesting local restaurants, arranging transportation to the airport, offering to arrange tickets to the museums (we already had them) to always inquiring about what we did each day, did we enjoy it, etc. etc. etc. Everything was done with a smile and they all made us feel that we were their only concern. If we ever return to Amsterdam, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of the main building on the north side. It was very quiet. The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don6545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

To the owners and staff of The Toren Hotel thank you so much for making our stay and anniversary so special for us!
Amazing and unique hotel in one of the best locations in Amsterdam, Mr & Mrs H, London.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SawboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff is delightful and helpful. The hotel is very well located and fairly priced given its excellent location. Anne Frank;s house is about one block away, and the museums are a fun and easy walk along the canals.

We stayed in a couple rooms in the annex about 50 meters from the main hotel. Our room on the canal was large with a beautiful view. The garden view room was less spacious but quieter at night. The bathrooms are clean and modern. Even the sheets passed my wife's tough test. (That is how she tells a better hotel from a lesser hotel.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and have always had a fantastic stay. The staff are wonderful and always willing to help! Situated on the keizergracht, everything is within reach.
Highly recommended, this is the only place I stay when in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG_SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the facilities superb and the location fantastic! The style of the hotel is distinctive with a lot of thought put into the furnishings. Wonderful stay, many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We appreciated the prime location and excellent service at The Toren. While our room was boudoir-chic with its purple and red, it was perfect for our introduction to Amsterdam and our canal view room was worth the extra expenditure. The hotel was close enough to walk to sights, but is on a quiet, lovely street, near excellent restaurants (Seasons, De Reiger, Brasserie Vlaming.) The best memory of Amsterdam, though, was renting our own boat through Sloepdelen and packing a picnic from Baton Brasserie. We cruised the canals at our own pace, including the Amstel River and right past The Toren. A perfect romantic trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulStef J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing