We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Toren the last week of July 2013.
Position, amazing easy access by foot to every site you would want to visit in Amsterdam, tram system also easily accessible . Service, it is hard to describe how wonderful the service at The Toren is -
from your first step in the front door to when you leave, there is always a smiling helpful well informed member of Staff right there ready for your questions, We arrived at 8pm on a Thursday
we were meet by a wonderful team of Ladies at reception (I am very sorry as I have mislaid the paper I wrote every bodies name on) however this is not important as each and every Lady at reception was helpful, and patient, finding you the best possible solution answer to your queries.
Worth mentioning, after we checked in we were meet by Sebastian at the Bar, who asked if we had special requests for Breakfast, my husband explained he had food allergies and did they have Spelt bread, Sebastian was not sure what that was, after asking us, he made sure by 8am next morning it was available. Michael who also worked in the Bar area, was also so helpful with what was suitable best way to go and on our return always remembered where we had gone.
The Toren is a delight and a wonderful experience, a boutique hotel, in the true sense of a home away from home, we look forward to staying there again next year when we return to Amsterdam
If travelling to Amsterdam, don't bother looking else where, they have it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building. I would request that, as there is no reception in second building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,091
    236
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
116
815
92
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent four nights here. The hotel is chic but elegant - very nice room and could not be better located. The beautiful Western Canal Ring is quiet and away from the tourist area around Central Station, but is within walking distance of anything in the central city. Nice shops and restaurants are nearby as is access to the tram system. As other reviews have said, the staff is unbelievable. Never have we had such friendliness and helpfulness. They cheerfully met every one of our needs, from suggesting local restaurants, arranging transportation to the airport, offering to arrange tickets to the museums (we already had them) to always inquiring about what we did each day, did we enjoy it, etc. etc. etc. Everything was done with a smile and they all made us feel that we were their only concern. If we ever return to Amsterdam, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of the main building on the north side. It was very quiet. The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

To the owners and staff of The Toren Hotel thank you so much for making our stay and anniversary so special for us!
Amazing and unique hotel in one of the best locations in Amsterdam, Mr & Mrs H, London.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff is delightful and helpful. The hotel is very well located and fairly priced given its excellent location. Anne Frank;s house is about one block away, and the museums are a fun and easy walk along the canals.

We stayed in a couple rooms in the annex about 50 meters from the main hotel. Our room on the canal was large with a beautiful view. The garden view room was less spacious but quieter at night. The bathrooms are clean and modern. Even the sheets passed my wife's tough test. (That is how she tells a better hotel from a lesser hotel.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and have always had a fantastic stay. The staff are wonderful and always willing to help! Situated on the keizergracht, everything is within reach.
Highly recommended, this is the only place I stay when in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the facilities superb and the location fantastic! The style of the hotel is distinctive with a lot of thought put into the furnishings. Wonderful stay, many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We appreciated the prime location and excellent service at The Toren. While our room was boudoir-chic with its purple and red, it was perfect for our introduction to Amsterdam and our canal view room was worth the extra expenditure. The hotel was close enough to walk to sights, but is on a quiet, lovely street, near excellent restaurants (Seasons, De Reiger, Brasserie Vlaming.) The best memory of Amsterdam, though, was renting our own boat through Sloepdelen and packing a picnic from Baton Brasserie. We cruised the canals at our own pace, including the Amstel River and right past The Toren. A perfect romantic trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.