We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff were incredibly welcoming, calling me by name as I came through the door (probably being the only young couple arriving that day made it easy) and immediatly offered us complimentary drinks! The room was lovely (although had feathers in when we had requested synthetics) but we were offered free breakfast to make up for the minor allergy attack.
All of the staff were incredibly helpful and solved all our problems before we knew we had any. The breakfast was amazing!
I would 100% stay again if going as a couple to Amsterdam.
As a young traveller it was very nice to have staff in an expensive hotel treat you as they would an elder guest rather than ignoring you as a few others have.
A truely wonderful hotel all round

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    229
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
783
92
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Everyone has talked about service(top notch caring people), location(the best), the furnishings ( a bit getting used to), and the breakfasts(wonderfully complete). Well they also arranged bikes for us, bought our Van Gogh tickets and recommended great food places. The only downside was marginal wifi in the annex...but they were mortified when they found out and called their provider while I was standing there.
I wish all reviews were this easy or good

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lottethetoren, Owner at The Toren, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dearest Guest,

We would like to say briefly that this review does not feel redundant to us at all, in fact it makes us very happy to read that you felt well assisted with the bikes, tickets and the options for food places. To us it is most important you felt more than happy. How great it is for us to read such a review. Thank you so much!!

With warm regards,
Eric and Petra Toren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4nights, 12 to 15 May, on a visit to explore
Amsterdam.When you arrive it looks like all the other houses in the row, and
the reception area is nothing special, but then you walk into the bar area &
you'll be blown away - such opulence & splendour! Chandeliers, ornate
mirrors, etc.
Our bedroom was in the "annex" a few doors away. We had chosen a deluxe
canal-view room on the 3rd floor. It was large & well furnished, with a very
big comfortable bed. Big bath, good shower. Bathrobes & slippers provided.
Coffee/tea machine - makes an excellent cup of coffee! Amsterdam canals are
tree-lined & the trees had all just come into leaf, so were at their
best-bright bright green; the view from the bedroom window was thus very
attractive. We had no problems with noise.
Breakfast was taken in the bar of the hotel - what splendid surroundings for
breakfast! The choice was excellent & we very much enjoyed it on all 4 days.
Snacks are also served in the bar @ lunch-time & these are good too, albeit
limited choice.
Amsterdam is a very "walkable" city and we like to explore cities on foot
(you see so much more & can explore parts away from the main thoroughfares)
so we did walk everywhere, but in fact the hotel is very close to many of
the main sights, including Dam Square, Anne Frank House, a canal cruise
start-point. We also walked to the RIJKS Museum, since the walk gives you
chance to see other areas of the city, along more canals, but it does indeed
take about 40minutes to walk, as the hotel receptionists advised us.
Which brings me to the hotel staff, especially those on reception. All the
staff are friendly & helpful, and those on reception are excellent at
advising, making bookings, sorting out any problems, etc. We chatted to them
about restaurants for the evening; they were knowledgeable & made our
bookings for us, at the chosen venue, each night. One of the reasons for
choosing this hotel was that it is not part of a chain (& not big - really
don't like enormous featureless hotels!), because we find that you get
really friendly & helpful staff at such hotels - they seem to take great
pride in the hotel. This proved to be the case here.

So: excellent location, sumptuous surroundings, friendly helpful staff,
good breakfast, super bedroom - what more could you ask?
Incidentally, there is a small courtyard-cum-garden @ the back of the hotel,
with plenty of seating; how nice it would have been to sit there with a
reviving cup of tea (or other!) after a day walking round the city, or to
have a drink before dinner out there in the late sunshine, but sadly not for
us- too cold!"

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is small and somewhat quirky, but it is very high quality and provides fantastic service. Our room was a suite in the back, very private and quiet. The garden would be enjoyable with better weather. The room was very comfortable, with some luxury but not pretentious. The hotel is well situated. The best part was the extraordinary service at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect place to spend a birthday in Amsterdam. It was evident from arriving at the Toren that the staff were going to go above and beyond to please their guests, particularly the girls on the front desk and Sebastian, who pointed out loads of different places to eat and drink and were on hand if ever we needed anything.

The Toren is a beautiful building and the decor throughout only emphasises the mood of the sexy city. Breakfast was fantastic and try a champagne cocktail if you get the chance. Amazing.

We would definitely recommend the Toren to anyone staying in Amsterdam and will HAVE to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Toren for three nights. Very comfortable, great location, friendly and helpful staff. I was glad we got a canal-view room, as the canals are, to me, what Amsterdam is about. Very good breakfast too. I highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great little hotel, stunningly well presented. Staff all very friendly, hint of sexiness throughout the whole hotel.
Outdoor garden was a quiet little haven away from hustle and bustle.
The pictures on the website dont really do this hotel any justive at all.
Great bar and food as well as fantastic referrals to restaurants and local services.
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.