We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Illnau, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was a beutiful home on a wonderful in a busy city; only 5 minutes walk to most attractions in Amsterdam. Extremely friendly staff, very helpful.
A perfect stay in a city hotel, excellent breakfast and bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    249
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
899
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at this Hotel. From the moment you enter you are greeted and welcomed by some of the most pleasant and friendly staff I have ever come across. The Hotel itself is set in location that makes you feel you are actually living in the community and not some sterile commercial area a lot of Hotels are located in. It is however ideally located and central to major squares, sights and transport. The bar and sitting area on the ground floor creates both a grand and relaxing experience soothing away any travel tiredness or stress. The Toren has managed to provide a 1st class Hotel experience in an environment that makes one feel like they are staying in a lovely friendly home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were blown away by the incredible service at the Toren. Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to make our stay unforgettable. We even received an email directly from the owners thanking us for our stay. The owners referenced specific conversations we had with their staff, which proved their commitment to customer service on a personal level.
We had originally booked another hotel for the end of our European trip because the Toren was fully booked. The other hotel didn't come close to the cleanliness and service of the Toren. There were short hairs stuck all over the bathroom walls and the towels had not been cleaned, just folded and put back on the shelf. We called the staff at the Toren and informed them of our situation. The staff quickly arranged for us to stay in the one available room at the Toren and immediately reserved a room for us at their other hotel for the following night, at a reasonable price too!
I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Amsterdam. I know we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked The Torén because the Sofitel was full the week we needed to be in Amsterdam. Had dinner at Bridges in the Sofitel, and decided we were happier at The Torén, which is more old fashioned in its elegance. The executive suites are behind the main building, facing a private patio, and very quiet. Nice jetted tubs plus big showers. We'd stay here again. Walking distance to everything you need, too.

Room Tip: Higher executive suites are worth the extra money. Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Toren, and we could not have been more pleased. We are an adult couple, who shared a room with our 21 year old son who is currently studying abroad in Europe. When we checked in, the helpful woman at the desk offered us an upgrade to a larger room than we had reserved, with a canal view, for 20 Euros per night. We were very glad we took it. The room was beautifully decorated, sppotlessly clean, extremely spacious by European standards, and had a large modern bathroom with a jetted tub and very comfortable beds. The espresso /coffee machine in the room made the best coffee we've had in a while- I plan to buy myself the same model for home. The Toren is situated very near trams, within walking distance from Centraal Station, and around the corner from the Anne Frank House. There were several nice restaurants and breakfast places very nearby. The Toren does offer a guest breakfast for 14 euros per person, but we preferred to try places in the neighborhood. All in all, we highly recommend the Toren.

Room Tip: The canal view was worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brits in france
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

2 nights for a special break for myself and my husband. We loved the over the top lush interior design, and the location is fabulous. Our room had an extra large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and french windows opening onto the courtyard garden. The staff were very helpful, and we were treated to lots of lovely little complimentary extras which was really welcome. Free WIFI was appreciated, and the trip advisor special discount code got us breakfast at only 7.50 per person, which was great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Toren for two nights this week and only wish we could have stayed longer. The 5-star reviews everyone gives are absolutely right. The staff at the hotel is probably unparalleled--so warm, helpful, and welcoming to everyone. Within minutes of arrival we had our dinner reservations, a map with directions to places we wanted to visit, the precise train and bus schedule for our trip to the Keukenhof Gardens the next morning, and an escort to our room.

We had a glorious room in the annex with a wall of huge windows overlooking the canal and were lucky enough to arrive for 2 days of gorgeous spring weather. The room was large, comfortable, and decorated in opulent colors with amazing pillows covered in cut velvet. The breakfast in the cozy bar/dining room in the main hotel is fantastic and it was also a perfect place to enjoy a before-dinner drink--again, with a table overlooking the canal. The hotel is within steps of shopping and dining, and as noted a block away from the Anne Frank house, but also located on a quiet street away from noise. When a friend came to visit for the night, the staff set up, not just a rollaway bed, but a regular twin bed with box spring and mattress, made up completely, for only a modest additional charge. Amsterdam is enchanting and this hotel adds to that feeling! The owners also sent a warm email after our stay and obviously care deeply about their family hotel. Stay here if you can!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.