We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel located in a great section of Amsterdam. The Anne Frank house is located about a block away and you can walk to all the city attractions or public transportation is a couple of block away. There are a number of nice restaurants in the area within walking distance. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful in recommending places to eat and gave honest opinions of the food and locale. We stayed in a deluxe canal view room in the second building, which was huge by European standards; bathroom was average size. Upon checking into our room we were treated to fresh strawberries and chocolates, a delicious welcome. The decor is darker bold colors (our room was deep purple, black and red). We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to other guests.

My one recommendation would be to tell guests the services they provide. I just read another review about bike rentals, we were trying to rent bikes and didn't realize we could have done this through the hotel.

One great tool we discovered is the Trip Advisor City Guide app on your smartphone. You download the app, pick the city you'll be visiting and can pull up restaurants and attractions, all without using the data service on your cell phone. It has a great feature called "point me there" which gives you the direction and number of steps to a designated address you give. It's great.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,050
    226
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
774
91
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked The Toren for my husband's birthday having looked up the reviews on Tripadvisor.
My husband and I travel a great deal and have stayed in many hotels, but this has to be one of the best.
Right from the initial booking, the staff were incredibly helpful, e mailing me to keep me updated. We arrived early, but were able to leave our bags at reception to collect later.
On returning to the hotel, once again the staff were very friendly and gave us discount on the breakfast as well as a room upgrade! A very nice gentleman carried our bags to our room which was situated in another building a few doors down the road.
Not only did we have vouchers for a free cocktail in the bar, but the hotel had also left a bottle of champagne as a gift for my husband! The room at the back of the hotel, was very spacious with a fantastic bathroom (along with complimentary toiletries).
Breakfast is a buffet with an excellent selection of English and continental.
Eric and Petra the hotel owners sent a very nice follow up e mail.
We would certainly stay here again and suggest you look nowhere else if planning a stay in Amsterdam. The location is perfect - thanks to The Toren for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

First time i'v stayed there, love ever minute of our stay, gorgeous place to stay, room was beautiful , service excellent ,Michael serviced us few times, Breakfeast had everything you wanted , would recommend the toren to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went on a romantic trip for my wifes birthday. Had a canal view suite. Staff extremely helpfull and attended to every little detail. They prepared lunchboxes from Christophe, because of our late check in. My wife got a personal letter from the owners, congratulating her. The room was impeccable, but we did not make use of the canal view, as there is no terrace/balcony. If you are looking to spend, and want something different, but with the highest quality available, this is the hotel you are looking for. And to top it all, a great location. Perfect for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: If you are not going to sit in your room staring at the canal, dont opt for the canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a fantastic night at this hotel for my boyfriends birthday. Very ramantoc spot and amazing room! Staff were very helpful and attentive. Really do recomendto anyone looking for something different.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived to this hotel for our honeymoon, our journey had a middle visit to 5 days in Amsterdam in The Toren hotel.
Must say that from the first second of communication with the staff, in early stages of the order from home, was just fantastic, I don't have enough words to describe it, they been so kind, polite, friendly, helpful, nice and lovely.
The treat we received was just as for VIP. The welcome was very warm, all our questions were answered in the most detailed way with quite long explanations and examples.
I received a lot of information by email, phone and just in front of the reception girls.

I have never received such warm treat in any hotel before, it was a feeling of a family and our stay was as it was our home.

We really enjoyed this nice boutique style hotel.

The rooms, corridors, dinning room and the pub decoration and design is like a magic in neo aristocratic style, very lovely.

I do recommend this hotel, we will absolutely come visit them again.

Room Tip: Our Garden side room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Cannot recommend this hotel enough.
Warmest friendliest & helpful reception staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Nothing is too much hassle.
Arriving to an amazing de lux room on the first night, we encountered a slight problem..we made this aware to the hotel manager. When we arrived back from enjoying the pleasures of the Dam, my wife and I were upgraded to the Garden Suite.

This room is a delight for the senses!!! Nearly 1500 sq ft of style, coolness, elegance and technology. It has to be said (and t sounds weird unless you know the room) but i doubt many have experienced a toilet like this one!!!;-) ( I said it sounded odd but youll know what I mean when you stay the). The double shower turns into a scented steam room, and the jacuzzi bath is a welcome after a day pounding the cobbled streets.

We have been going to the Dam for years, no where comes close to the Torin. Thanks guys for making it such a memorable trip, thanks for the champagne ( our anniversary), the room and your warm Dutch hospitality. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Andrew & Rachel M.

Room Tip: There was not fitness room at the torin , clicked by mistake. If you can book the garden suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.