We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back from 3 night stay at Toren.
Pros - small room not that small, great amenities, Nespresso machine, nice bathroom, quiet location, nice bar, helpful desk, very comfy bed and spotlessly clean.
Cons - bit of a walk to certain attractions.
Would stay again but when it's a bit warmer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    266
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
1,012
114
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked here based on the TA reviews and so glad we did. Excellent location, polite and efficient staff, beautiful cocktail bar, nice breakfast, luxe products in room (Rituals), along with robes, slippers, strawberries and chocolates and great restaurant recs. We had a delicious dinner at Max's and a humble but tasty lunch around the corner (can't remember the name but it's opposite Anne Frank's house). Also got an upgrade, free cocktail and half price breakfast. We almost booked Canal Street as we are Mr & Mrs Smith members but it was a bit too pricey...so glad we didn't as it's almost next door to The Toren yet much more expensive! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment that we arrived we were welcomed with a smile and showed around to our room. My husband and had a night away and it was the perfect location as well as the perfect room. The staff were helpful and friendly without being fake and the rooms were incredible. The bath tub was big and was great for a soak after a day of shopping. The bed was big and comfortable and was great to wake up to coffee (nespresso) and a view over the kanal. It is central to everything that you want in terms of museums and shopping. It is quite expensive but for a once in a lifetime experience it definitely lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Toren, it is in a nice situation only a short walk from the tram stop (no. 13 or 17 if arriving from the station). We were in room 108 which overlooked the garden, very quiet and peaceful. The room was good with a large double bed which was very comfortable. I agree with everything that has been said about the staff, I've never known a group of people to be so consistently friendly. Breakfast was good with a selection of hot & cold dishes, great coffee and orange juice. Certainly somewhere to go back to.

Room Tip: 108 if your not fussed about a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Toren in December in the 3 person room, which is located in the annex next door. The hotel lobby and bar are hip with an elegant gothic vibe. The reception area is small, maybe a little too small, but the staff is wonderful and go above and beyond to ensure they answer your questions. One very nice young lady at reception spent all afternoon trying to call our restaurant of choice to make a reservation. She kept us informed that there was no answer and THREE hours later (yes, she kept trying the line tirelessly) she called to tell us we were set. Thank you! Before dinner we stopped in the bar and sat near the cozy fireplace and enjoyed a perfectly made cocktail. When we left for dinner, it started to rain and the reception desk notice us leaving and gave us each umbrellas. The room itself was cozy and had great amenities like a K-cup machine and free WiFi. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. This is my hotel of choice in Amsterdam and will recommend it freely. Thanks again Toren for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A quick 2 night visit to Amsterdam and the perfect hotel to spend it in. We stayed in a deluxe superior room with a canal view in the annex building. Dramatic and sumptuous decor (may not be to everyone's taste) but very well appointed, very comfortable and an excellent design.

The staff are very professional and very friendly,nothing too much trouble.

Arriving by train, we walked to the Hotel from the station. It's possible to visit all of the old town without any transport, just walking.

The hotel has a great bar with a nice, cozy ambiance with great service (you must try Sebastian's signature cocktail!).

If you wanted room service they have a fantastic arrangement with the restaurant around the corner. A brilliant idea for a boutique hotel to offer quality food from a restaurant's menu!

Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located within a short walk to most of what you would want to see in Amsterdam. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. We made good use of the in-room nespresso machine and other treats.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.