We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I used trip advisor to help select a hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful choice. The location was a pleasant surprise, it is right in the heart of the Jordan district close to some of the finest canals and walks in amsterdam. We purchased a 48h city card (only available at the central station or official tourist offices). This got us full use of the trams and busses as well as entrance into all the museums.

The hotel is very interesting! An absolute delight to stay in such a luxury room with its own jacuzzi and expresso machine! The room was very clean and we had champagne waiting for us on arrival..a nice touch.

The breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel stay...and I have travelled allot..

Best of all was the staff.. All were very pleasant and always helpful

Highly recommended

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    249
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
899
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was given a wonderful surprise for Valentine's - a trip to Amsterdam and my husband had booked us into this amazing hotel.

And so, to start - for my husband to say he was impressed with the way in which a hotel reservation is handled is something indeed - take my word for it - he is not easily pleased! The team were immediate with a personalized response when he booked the room and everything they confirmed in writing, they delivered during our stay....AND MORE!!

We arrived to complimentary champagne, chocolates and strawberries in our room - this was such a lovely touch to make the start to the stay all the more special! And the room itself - beautiful - we had a deluxe with jacuzzi and cannot recommend this room highly enough if you want that little bit more in your accommodation. The bed was super comfy, the linen was of extremely high standard, the toiletries wonderful and the furnishings of an extremely high standard - sumptuous, luxurious....

And so onto the team - each and every staff member we encountered clearly has the same core values - to ensure that the guests' stay is enjoyable and memorable (for all the right reasons of course!) and they most certainly delivered on this without fail. Cannot compliment them highly enough.

The hotel's location is perfect, whatever your interests may be - history, art, retail therapy, great restaurants, bars.....all within easy walking distance....

To conclude, cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, be mindful this is traditional hotel with beautiful traditional windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here with two friends last weekend and from the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. The staff here go above and beyond and really look after you. The girl on reception was so friendly and pointed out all the places we needed on the map as wel as suggesting other place, and then gave us complimentary breakfast and a free cocktail each. Then a friendly guy carried our bags to our room. Id left my passport at reception and he brought it to us with strawberries and chocolates. Such a sweet thing to do after a tiring journey started our trip on a happy foot.

The hotel was very quaint and the room clean and the bathroom nice with a powerful shower. The bed slightly narrow but the room was very warm which was great when it was so cold and snowing outside. We all slept very well and it was quiet. Our room didnt not have a view but that really didnt matter. The hotel offers free wifi and a tv and a coffee machine. The breakfast was really nice, it was served until 11a, but we got there around then and they were still bringing out food. A great choice of food meant we were set for the day. The place you eat the breakfast is also the bar area, and the decoration is really cozy and nice, they have gone to a lot of effort for a nice effect. Again, the staff were very friendly. I didnt know what to expect for the free cocktail but i was very pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. We got majitos and they were very tasty.

The location is just round the corner from Anne Franks house. Its walkable to central station and not far from dam square. Plenty of things to do and see you on your doorstep. There is a really nice stone baked pizza shop 2 minute walk away across the canal which i recommend.

I cant stress enough how helpful and nice the staff are here. Its a great place to stay and I would recommend staying here as I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint petersburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My fiancé and i just returned from a few days in Amsterdam. The hotel was wonderful. The breakfast was nice, the room exceptionally clean and well kept. But what really made this hotel wonderful was how attentive the staff was. They really turn this hotel in the most cosy place to stay and they realy make you feel like home. All these small touches made our stay truly memorable. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went over to Amsterdam for valentines day, and we decided to treat ourselves and get the superior room at this hotel, first off the receptionists were very lovely and very welcoming, the decor of the whole hotel was OUTSTANDING!!! The generosity of this hotel is amazing, you cant fault this place anywhere, the room we had was lovely and clean with a huge deep bed with large jacuzzi and amazing decor throughout, breakfast was worth it in the bar room, continental and English breakfast being served with a whole array of fruit and cereal and juices, anything that was not on the menu we were advised to tell staff and they would see if they could prepare your request. Will definitely come back to this hotel on our next trip, if your looking to book somewhere funky and luxurious then look no further!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 225 for 4 nights over valentine's. The room was clean, warm, the bathroom was excellent and they had nice toiletries. Free WIFI was helpful and the food was good. The bar and fire was nice but how could they run out of Bombay Sapphire and not just walk down the road to replace it? The staff were very helpful and kind. Needs to have a bigger menu but perfect location for Anne Frank's house and 10 minute walk to Dam Square. The old town is beautiful but it's a moneyed area so local cafe's can be expensive.
The hotel is a good 4 star and only the narrow food menu and lack of gin let them down.
Would definitely recommend and revisit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We relied on Trip Advisor reviews to find a good hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam. Thankfully, we found a great hotel – The Toren. It is located in a residential area, which makes it quiet and relaxing, but still near the best sights like the Anne Frank House and wonderful restaurants that are all within walking distance.

The Toren is like Amsterdam - dark, brooding and mysterious. We found it gaudily over decorated with hot pink plumes, gilt, and colored lights that swirled over the ornate furniture. It was like falling into a psychedelic cloud and we loved it!

It’s a series of townhouses, and our room was in the annex, just a few steps away from the lounge and reception area. We chose a canal view room, and that was definitely worth it. The room was large and comfortable with a big bathroom and a black chandelier over the bed. I must mention, too, the wallpaper that looked like corrugated tin when the light hit it a certain way. So fascinating!

Breakfast was served in the small lounge, but we never had to wait and enjoyed a tasty buffet. There were several lovely ladies at the front desk who quickly booked our reservations for dinner or tours. They were very knowledgeable and friendly. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners in the lounge one night. They explained how The Toren was decorated by a famous interior designer, and they introduced us to ice champagne. They are a fun couple.

Choose The Toren and prepare to be dazzled!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.