We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be Dazzled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Prepare to be Dazzled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We relied on Trip Advisor reviews to find a good hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam. Thankfully, we found a great hotel – The Toren. It is located in a residential area, which makes it quiet and relaxing, but still near the best sights like the Anne Frank House and wonderful restaurants that are all within walking distance.

The Toren is like Amsterdam - dark, brooding and mysterious. We found it gaudily over decorated with hot pink plumes, gilt, and colored lights that swirled over the ornate furniture. It was like falling into a psychedelic cloud and we loved it!

It’s a series of townhouses, and our room was in the annex, just a few steps away from the lounge and reception area. We chose a canal view room, and that was definitely worth it. The room was large and comfortable with a big bathroom and a black chandelier over the bed. I must mention, too, the wallpaper that looked like corrugated tin when the light hit it a certain way. So fascinating!

Breakfast was served in the small lounge, but we never had to wait and enjoyed a tasty buffet. There were several lovely ladies at the front desk who quickly booked our reservations for dinner or tours. They were very knowledgeable and friendly. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners in the lounge one night. They explained how The Toren was decorated by a famous interior designer, and they introduced us to ice champagne. They are a fun couple.

Choose The Toren and prepare to be dazzled!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    294
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
156
1,124
131
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned today from a 2 night stay at The Toren. The hotel was lovely. My husband and I stayed in a room with a canal view. The room was decorated beautifully and was well appointed. I loved everything about it. The hotel was in a perfect location. We were able to walk to everything. And, the staff was so nice and so helpful. It was truly a great choice all the way around. I highly recommend The Toren!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'll keep it short and sweet. Superb hotel, good price, friendly helpful staff, perfect location to all tourist attractions, and central train station, cosy bar / restaurant, nice sized bedrooms which are well furnished, and decorated, with all the mod cons, and nice views...i will be returning to Amsterdam in the summer and will be staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

2 Mums taking their 3 teenagers away for a night in Amsterdam, requiring 2 rooms.... what can we say? It was an amazing hotel - nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was so different from anything we had ever brought the children too before - only sorry it was just the one night. We will defo. return as the location/hotel/staff were out of this world

Room Tip: Get the hotel to arrange your taxi to/from the airport for value for money. We managed to get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. If you are lucky enough to make your budget stretch then I would highly recommend a suite (406 - has a downstairs bathroom with 2 person jacuzzi). The staff are ridiculously helpful and it has a really individual feel of luxury & splendour. If you can't have a good time with your partner here then I don't know where you can!!! Everything most people would want to do in Amsterdam is within walking distance. Thanks to everyone who made our trip so memorable, we are definitely coming back next year!

Room Tip: If you can, book suite 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Trip to Amsterdam was an Xmas present / romantic weekend, with my partner, and I chose this hotel as I wanted something special as a treat. The Toren, did not let us down, brilliant welcome, excellent helpful front desk staff and help with luggage. The hotel is a canal house, which has been decorated in a dramatically luxurious style, our room was one of the smaller ones but had rich quality furnishing and everything you need for a romantic weekend. Really set the tone for exploring Amsterdam. The hotel is in a great location, as it is on one of the main canals, is near major visitor attractions, the 9 shopping streets and a lovely local market. Welcoming cafes and restaurants to suit many tastes close by. Only a tiny tiny issue to be aware of that not all of the rooms are in the main hotel building, our room was a couple of doors along the canal. There is also a benefit though as this building (still decorated in the same style and feels very much a part of the main hotel) was very quite.
Overall, we loved it, created the right mood from the moment we stepped into the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend talking to the hotel about the choice of rooms, they have different styles at diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It has been almost a year since I stayed here but I wanted to make sure I gave them credit where credit is due. This was the last stop on our honeymoon adventure. Completely boutique and Amsterdam romantic.
The staff at The Toren was always very helpful and willing to answer our questions. Our room was always spotless. It was what we wanted from a hotel while staying in Amsterdam on our honeymoon. The room was mostly purple with velvety textures. This sounds somewhat cheap and cheesy but it was designed so well that it worked (see pictures). It was perfect. The jacuzzi in our room had lights that changed colors, there were switches on the wall that drew the curtains around the bed and changed the colors of the lights in the room. Magical.
The location of the hotel was perfect. Close enough to everything that a walk or a short bike ride was all we needed but far enough from the riff raff that we could hang out around the hotel without running into tons of tourist seeking out the red light district (I'm not saying we didn't walk down to the red light at least once).
I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else while in Amsterdam. Great job Toren!

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the canal for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,434 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.