We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific hotel with great charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington D. C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A terrific hotel with great charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had two rooms at The Toren for two nights in December based on the recommendations on Trip Adviser. This is a terrific boutique hotel. The staff was excellent and recommended some great restaurants that the locals go to. The rooms and decor are very unique and cosy. One of our rooms had a canal view and the other did not, because when we booked only one was available. Without a doubt pay the extra for a canal view. We had a wall of windows looking out on the canal which was well worth the extra cost. It snowed one day and the view was spectacular, however, given my choice I would visit Amsterdam in the warmer weather and not the winter. Our room was a Deluxe Canal View which has the jacuzzi tub and sink as part of the bedroom. While this idea is a little out of the ordinary to me, sitting in the tub with a view of the canal after a cold day out on the town was great. The other rooms was a standard room which had the same decor, but was smaller and did not have a view. We stayed in the annex which was just a few doors down from the main building, and was just as nice as the main hotel. The main hotel had a great lounge and bar with a working fire place which was a great place to relax after a cold day. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can not comment on that. The hotel has a very central location and you can walk to just about anything you want downtown. Amsterdam is a great city to just walk in. There is very little vehicular traffic, but keep an eye out for the bicycles they will run over you if you are not careful. The internet was free which is alway a bonus.

We travel a lot and stay in many wonderful hotels. The Toren is without a doubt a terrific small hotel that has a great deal of character and charm. I don't know about the other hotels in Amsterdam but I would think the Toren would be hard to beat. I would definitely stay there on my nest visit.

Room Tip: Pay for the canal view it is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logcolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
MALONE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent two nights at the Toren in early December. Even though I was in the property about 1/2 block down from the main building, the room and location were great.
The Room was very spacious and clean. It had a relaxing feel to it and the bathroom was huge for European standards. The tub was large and there was plenty of hot water.
Great place to stay! i would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHAWN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Really nice hotel. I stayed here for a long weekend before Xmas and had a great time. The staff were really friendly and efficient and the place is beautifully done up and exudes comfort and luxury.

My room was the single and while the room was small, the bed was very comfy and the room was well appointed with free internet, flat screen TV and mini bar and the shower room was also very good. My only minor quibble was that the room seemed due a redec as the wallpaper had a few scuffs and marks, but when I fed this back on check out the staff said they would look to get it redecorated ASAP.

The buffet breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold meats, eggs done on request and continental breads, jams etc. the same room doubled as the bar in the evening and they do some very nice cocktails, one of which was complimentary.

Location was great, right on of the 3 most picturesque canals and with the Anne Frank House and Westermarket tram stop (direct trams to Centraal Station) within less than 5 mins walk really accessible too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at The Toren four nights in december 2012. The hotel is located in walking distance from most of the sights in central Amsterdam, and for things farther away there is always a tram nearby.

The hotel itself is really nice. The room was great: spacious, clean and nice, and housekeeping was on the spot every day. When we arrived, there were strawberries and chocolate in our room, and two complimentary drinks (free choice) from the bar. The decorations and atmosphere of the hotel is great; old charm with a modern touch, and just on the right side of "pompous", without taking itself too seriously. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfast was served as a buffet in the lounge/bar area, but you could get it delivered to your room as well. There was a coffee machine in our room, a radio/stereo with ipod/iphone-dock and of course a huge jacuzzi (and also a separate shower).

A great stay! Would love to come back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the hotel garden, and there was absolutely no noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slitte_sko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in the annex building. Super comfy bed, great coffee machine. Loved the decor. Very moody. We were told we were staying in one of the larger doubles. Good size for a weekend break. The only thing I felt was that we were a bit of an 'outsider' staying in the building about 6/7 houses down the road. However, checking in/out really friendly reception staff who gave us a list of places to visit/eat which was very useful. Great location, we walked everywhere as we felt all areas were easy for us to reach on foot, plus you get to see so much more. We skipped brekkie as we thought for 14 euros each we could get more for our money and we did. There is some lovely cafes for breakfast just a few blocks away. Very nice first experience of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had to get back to this beautiful hotel and were able to spend a few nights there in late November. It was even better than we remembered. We cannot say enough about the friendly and professional staff. The hotel has beauty and charm - old-world but with modern sophistication that does not detract from it (as is often the case these days). This time we had one of the smaller rooms, but it was superb and the bathroom modern, marbled and magnificent. But the breakfast room and lounge is where I really wanted to spend my time - it couldn't have a more luxurious and comfortable feel to it. We love this hotel and will return to Amsterdam to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This boutique hotel is very uniquely desgined. The staff, service and maintenance was beyond any expectations. The room was clean and tidy, although a little small (the small double room) for a couple staying for a whole week. Nevertheless, we were compensated with the great breakfast buffet (which was not included initially). The location is quite central and only a short walking distance from Dam and tram station. Would definitely come back there.

Room Tip: ask for the standart double room and not the small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing