We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent... charm is ther word.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
alicante
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent... charm is ther word.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was looking for a hotel that was a bit differnt in Amsterdam, not the typical impersonal one. I found it, it was The Toren. I was afraid as I saw the reviews said the rooms were very small. We got a standard double with bath tub in the corner and I loved it. The decoration is lovely and the room has a lot of charm. The bed is very confortable and cosy.The girls at reception and always receive you with a smile and will help you with anything, they were very friendly. They give u a list with restaurants the recomenda and we tried three... by far BUSSIA (an itialian) was the best.

Room Tip: com mínimo standard double not small double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoelogicopark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Loved it! Really helpful staff, one even bought me drink in the early hours of the morning. They certainly seemed genuine to me. My room had got the bath in the middle of the living space and I know that sounds weird, but it worked for me. Close to the centre and right on one of the canals, so the position is extremely pleasant. It has almost a bordello feel to it...but in a classy way!

Room Tip: Look for a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is great! After a long flight from L.A. we had one overnight in Amsterdam and booked the Toren. They were fabulous, both through the booking process and once we got there. We got in early, so they held our luggage prior to check-in and lugged it to the room when it was ready. We stayed in the annex, which was very clean and nice. I, unfortunately, blew the main electrical fuse in the room shortly after arrival by plugging a 3-prong American into a 2-prong American/Euro adapter. Don't do this!!! Michel (I believe his name was) quickly remedied the situation and we were good to go. The location was very convenient and made our brief stay in Amsterdam at the start of our long trip very enjoyable. Thanks again to Michel and all the staff at the Toren. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and it was delightful. I was concerned about staying "down the street&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering42009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Really really lovely stay, great location. The service was fantastic and jacuzzi in room was amazing! We were on our honeymoon and all the staff made an extra fuss of us because of it, including a free bottle of expensive champagne, strawberries and chocolates :)


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carbogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I love this hotel! My wife and I stayed most of the week around Thanksgiving. We had a great stay. We arrived to early for check in but the staff held our bags. Our room (on the canal side) was pleasant with a comfortable bed, flat screen tv (could use a couple more English language channels), and a nice big bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The staff treated us like family. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had booked this hotel after reading such great reviews and it most definitely did not disappoint. The rooms are very clean and comfy, and the staffs were most helpful in providing directions and suggestions all the time. The breakfast spread was simply delicious too. The hotel is very near the shopping districts, and quiet too. The only negative aspect of this stay would be the luggage issue. When we first alighted no one came to assist us with our luggages, which were really very heavy. It would be good if the hotel management will look into this. Overall, we would definitely come back to the Toren when we are in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Toren for 3 nights. We travel as much as possible and I will say that you could not ask for a more friendly and courteous staff. The rooms were beautiful and the food was excellent. However the most impressive thing for me was that I had emailed 3 months prior to our arrival to just confirm our reservation. In my email I mentioned that I was confirming because it was our 30th wedding anniversary and just wanted to make sure all was good. When we arrived at the Toren every employee we came in contact with mentioned our anniversary. The owner personally had us upgraded to the Honeymoon suite at no cost. We traveled Europe for 24 days and while we had good or great service everywhere, none compared to The Toren.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWDLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing