We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an extraordinary boutique hotel. We enjoyed a canal view room. It was intimate, tasteful and romantic. The service was among the very best that we have received in any hotel. All of the staff is friendly, efficient, professional and ready to address any need. We had a drink in the intimate bar every night and ordered in dinner one night from a nearby Italian restaurant. The staff handled every request we had. They even introduced me to a Dutch single malt whiskey that is outstanding.

The location is 2 blocks from the Anne Frank Huis, 10-15 minute walk from the train station, Dam Square and near many nice restaurants.

We could not be more pleased with our stay at The Toren.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,057
    226
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
781
92
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment of enquiry to checking out this was a memorable experience. The staff are absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, they all really seemed to enjoy working there. I booked this trip for my partner's 60th birthday and was not disappointed. The owners left a note and a surprise for my partner.

The rooms and public areas were beautiful. Having stayed in many hotels all over the world this has to rate as one of the best and just a short stroll from the main areas.

We had an evening meal in a lovely restaurant/bar, again great service.

We cannot wait to go back. Thank you all at The Toren.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good location! alone the canal, quiet and nice. People works here were very helpfully. I'll like to recommend this beautiful hotel to beautiful people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A friend of mine who lives in Amsterdam recommended me this hotel for a weekend in the city. The location is enviable, central, overlooking the canal and close to the stations.
It 'sa very nice hotel with friendly staff but I didn't like the style.
The room (also quite large) was excessively decorated , with strong colors (black, purple, gray) and looked a room for meetings. The bath was better, with a nice jacuzzi, but without privacy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teba, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to stay at the the Toren many times over the last few months. The hotel decour is amazing in a a perfect location with many excellent restaurants and bars nearby. The Staff can make or break a hotel, the staff at the Toren are a real asset to the hotel and seem genuinely pleased to greet you and very helpful. The coffe machine in the room is absolutely top quality, great coffee and great selection.
Every room is a delight, some of the more expensive ones simply amazing!
Go ahead, treat yourself to an upgrade - you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: They are all good, though the garden rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I decided to spurge and book The Garden Cottage at The Toren for our last 3 nights of a 3 week holiday in Europe. As others have said, the location is great. I will say that I think they had a very good photographer. My initial impression was that the room was not as large, regal or luxurious as the pictures on the website. But it is a very nice room and the bed was very comfortable. The room has a great steam shower except we could never figure out how to get the steam working. The room has all of the other amenities as advertised.

While we were there they were building two new suites on the opposite side of the garden from the main building and I really hope that the hotel doesn't lose the small, intimate feel of staying in someone's (funky) home.

The exceptional staff is what sets this hotel apart from others. The reception personnel smile warmly every day, remember details about you and your trip and they could not possibly be more helpful. The bar staff were very fun and outgoing and loved to experiment with new and different drinks. I was so impressed with how well the employees seemed to get along. They laughed a lot and were respectful of each other and I think that speaks volumes about how well the hotel is managed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

WOW what can we say, booked The Toren for a 4 night stay for our honeymoon/bday. Once shown to our room we were greeted with a bottle of Moet and Strawberries and Chocs, a lovley touch. Both me and my husband were impressed from the word go with this hotel, we have stayed alot of nice expensive hotels and the service and treatment from this hotel is 5 star well worth the price! We had a slight issue with our room not the hotel fault I am a light sleeper and they sorted this out immediately for us! All the staff are a pleasure and so nice and helpful. We would definitely stay at The Toren again for sure the location is spot on also. The owner certainly knows what he is doing here with his hotel and is advised of everything going on which is prob why this place is so successful, keep up the good work and we will be back when we are next in Amsterdam which we hope is not too long away :) Oh and breakfast is great too !!! Thanks again for a great stay, see you soon :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.