We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give this hotel six stars if I could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
somewhere in UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I'd give this hotel six stars if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stunning, luxurious hotel right on a canal, in a quiet part of Amsterdam but an easy walk from anything you may want to see. The Jordaan neighbourhood is very quirky and interesting to potter about. Some terrific restaurants within easy reach and lots of great independent shops. The bar/ lounge/ breakfast room is completely over the top, lavishly decorated - I've never eaten my tea and toast in more decadent surrounds. The staff bend over backwards to help and Are genuinely keen that you have a wonderful experience in their hotel and their city- It's rare to find such great service and the Toren are to be congratulated on recruiting such a dedicated team.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view... Pretty nice to wake up to and a true Amsterdam experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,037
    225
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
764
90
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in the hotel around the end of May 2012. This was the last leg of a very long trip, so we had booked a room at The Toren, hoping that the premium price we paid would give us a good experience to finish our trip. I had looked at hotels on TripAdvisor for Amsterdam and it seemed like we were either going to pay a good amount of money for a room or compromise on comfort. We did not regret our choice.

I had sent an email to the hotel ahead of time, requesting a room overlooking the canal. They responded that they would try to address our request, but that they could not guarantee it.
When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised with the room we were given. It was in the Annex of the hotel, a few doors down from the main hotel, but there was nothing wrong about that. Our room was huge, the bathroom generous and we had a great view of the canal. We spent one of our nights just hanging out at the hotel, watching the diverse people going out front in their boats.

The room was really, really clean and super-comfy (especially the bed and the whirlpool bathtub). The decor took a bit to get used to, but it was what I expected from the pictures on this site. We used the elevator and the stairs. The stairs were on the dark side and steep, so we had to be careful. However, this is what I've come to expect when staying in small hotels integrated in buildings previously used for private ownership, so I was not taken aback.

The only disappointment with the room was the closet. You would think that with such a huge room, we would have enough space for all our clothes, but the minibar took a huge chunk of the space available and the poles were placed awkwardly on one side of the closet instead of across it where we would have had plenty of space. We could not even suspend a man's shirt without having it touch the minibar.We did mention this to the reception and the girls there told us that it was going to be fixed the following week. Either that or a small armoire would have helped tremendously for the storage space.

We arrived really late in Amsterdam and we took our first meal at the bar. We had excellent service. The person who had shown us the room remembered that my husband mentioned that he wanted to try Dutch Jenever (a gin type liquor). He gave us samples of each Jenever they had at the bar and it turned out to be our favorite drink there.
The first day, we also had breakfast at the bar. I was surprised on how expensive the buffet was, even though it was tasty. For the next days, we found a nice little bakery one corner up and had plenty of breakfast for a third of the cost.

The location of the hotel is fabulous, especially if you don't have a lot of time to visit. It's spitting distance from two canal-bus boat companies (one of which we used as our ticket gave us access to three routes with no restrictions, a welcome respite after 21 days of non-stop walking). It is about 2 blocks away from Anne Frank's house. There are some good restaurants around, but we had better luck with the recommendations we found online or by chance rather than the restaurants recommended by the hotel.

Everyone at the reception were helpful and very polite. They all spoke perfect English.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrybrook, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Toren recently and were pleased at the quality of the service as well as the close proximity to everything in Amsterdam. We stayed at the annexe , 5 doors down to the main building , in a canal view room. The furnishings are luxurious and opulent , the room huge and the internet was fast . The only criticism I have is that the aircon was a bit temperamental. The bed was soft and comfy and the bells of the church closeby was pleasant. The staff were welcoming and attentive. Breakfast was served in the main building and was excellent.Anne Frank house and a lot of the other attractions are all at walking distance. Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 on our honeymoon and it was a great experience. Easy to get to (10 -15 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station or a 3-5 minute tram ride), this is a beautiful little hotel in a great location facing a canal. We got to stay in the "main building" and loved it. We were upgraded to a a suite with a jacuzzi and a view of the garden because when we booked, we told them it was our honeymoon. In the room, a bottle of french Moet champagne, chocolates and strawberries greeted us. The people who work at the Toren are ALL great and are incredibly service friendly. The room was a good size for europe and included a rain shower as well as the tub. The bed was comfortable and of good size---seemed like a king but may have been a super queen. Good lighting in the room and excellent air temp control (read: air conditioning when/if needed). Stayed for 4 days/3 nights and it was super. Umbrellas included to use if you need them. Lots of excellent restaurants nearby (Jordaan region is adjacent) in a variety of price points. Particularly like the Roem restaurant for lunch around the corner and two blocks away---unassuming place with great, unpretentious service and large portions of excellent food. Getting back to the hotel, had a couple of drinks in the bar the last night there and they were stiff and worthwhile. Great ambiance. Nicely furnished. The breakfast room area, opening into the bar, is great for breakfast and served an extensive buffet including lox, eggs, croissants, chocolate du pain, fruit, coffee, tea, breads, juices, etc. Excellent to get your day off right and should NOT be missed. If I had one complaint, it was that the internet in the hotel was a little slow and not intuitive (used internet on tv included for the price of the room). Anyway, shouldn't be on the net while in Amsterdam anyway. If you are interested, close to some of the best coffee shops in the city as well as Dam Square. Also easy to walk to the Museum area, about 15-20 minutes. When I return to Amsterdam, I will stay here and you should too! You'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: ALWAYS book the double room with breakfast in advance if you can. The all you can eat breakfast, nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We recently visited Amsterdam and stayed at The Toren after reading many good reviews on Trip Advisor. The location of the hotel is ideal for seeing Amsterdam and the older parts of the beautiful city. The staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. Our room which was located in the Annex of the Hotel - a few doors down the street was spacious and very well equipped,comfortable, clean and very welcoming. Although if was described as a small double - there were 3 of us staying so we had an extra bed in the room - and there was still plentyof space. We could not have wished for a nicer place or friendlier / helpful staff. If we return to Amsterdam we shall certainly stay at The Toren!

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and described as a small double in the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at the Toren in May 2012. The hotel was beautiful, and a perfect place for couples. Dramatic decor, very friendly staff and fantastic location. The bar was also great, and lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have travelled widely throughout europe and never stayed in a hotel so luxurious. I stayed at The Toren over a weekend for my birthday and we were upgraded and even given complimentary champagne and chocolates on arrival to celebrate my birthday. The staff did everything possible to make us welcome and helped with everything we could have wanted, even lending us utilities we had forgotten. A special thank you to Michiel who was super friendly and gave us lots of advice on where to go around Amsterdam and what to see. He's also a pretty good barman!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view. Its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.