We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Neighborhood, & Rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Location, Neighborhood, & Rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

First off the Toren is a great hotel! The atmosphere was amazing, as the have turn a canal house into a boutique hotel. The room’s décor is what really makes the Hotel stand out! You feel like you’re in the Victorian age with a modern twist. This is especially true for the bar/breakfast area, which truly feels like a combination of your grandmother’s living room and a hip lounge. You have to see it to believe it. The other selling point of the Hotel is its location, which is within walking distance of the most popular areas and still residential enough to feel like you can get away from the city. The only reason I am giving the hotel a 4 out of 5 is a slight miscommunication in the beginning of the trip, which was sorted out later in the visit.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for your free drink vouchers when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    270
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
1,029
116
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this little romantic gem in the heart of Amsterdam and loved it we had a jacuzzi in the room with other amenities shower coffee maker etc it's an ideal get away it would be a great trip for valentines day because of the amazing decor its a boutique with gothic kind of style
The beds are so comfortable we stayed in for the hole day and only left the hotel to dine.
The cost is worth It because the hotel is so original one of kind the location is perfect you are not far from Amsterdams most famous attractions but not smack bang in the hustle & bustle we will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a perfect romantic get away.

Room Tip: If you view the toren website they are frequently changing there offers on there rooms so keep an ey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Terrific location near the Anne Frank House and Jordaan. It felt like we were living (albeit like the very wealthy) in Amsterdam rather than merely visiting as tourists. Staff was very helpful and cordial (I say cordial because I'm not sure I could accurately refer to most Dutch as "friendly"; thats just not their culture, nothing against the hotel). Upon receiving our tip, the porters gently reminded us about the tipping policy in the Netherlands (which is usually no tip required). That was nice of them because later on in our trip a waiter at an unrelated restaurant took advantage of us disbelieving Americans. We never had breakfast at the Toren and found out the hard way that breakfast is hard to come by at nearby restaurants; so I suggest eating breakfast at the hotel if you crave American style breakfast food in the morning. By the way, from inside your room you can faintly hear the bells of Westerkerk chime which is a haunting and subtle reminder of where you are. Hotel is luxurious, comfortable and close to everything; you'll pay for that but it might be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a jacuzzi deluxe room and it was definately worth the money. Our room and everything about the hotel was beautiful.

All of the staff were friendly and very helpful, booking restaurants and hiring bikes for us.

It is in a great location for everything. We walked everywhere but also hired bikes from the hotel for a day.

We would definately stay here again and have also had friends say the same.

I wrote to the hotel to say thank you and it was really nice to receive a letter back. Thanks again everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Oscar Wilde would have loved this hotel. With heavy drapery, thick carpets, dark violet flowers, black marble, pictures of golden age angels. You will feel like a dutch reach merchant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My DDG Lady and I spent 5 days here over the Valentines Day period and had an absolutely wonderful time. We got a free room upgrade into 'the annexe' which is identical in appearance to the main hotel but is a few doors down the road, and is an identical canal house The hotel is decorated, furnished and presented in rather 'bohemian' colours but this works well, and it is located in a nice part of Amsterdam conveneint for the trams etc. The staff were very attentive. We did not try the breakfast as it was NOT included in the room tariff AND surprisingly there is no on-site restaurant for lunch and dinner (although there are some nice places nearby including the lovely restaurant next door (in separate ownership)). There was a TV in the room BUT which was 'pay to view'. There was some noise from the room above ours which the hotel did try to remedy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, short walking distance from everywhere you would want to visit and just around the corner to Anne Franks house. There is also a great little restaurant just around the corner called De Luwte - would highly recommend a visit.

The decor is quite flamboyant and maybe not to everyone's taste but it is certainly luxurious feeling and extremely comfortable. Bathroom amenities were great, bed comfy and the Nespresso coffee machine in the room with complimentary capsules was definitely a great extra! Breakfast was lovely and the staff as a whole from reception to bar staff, couldn't do enough for you - very helpful and friendly.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Amsterdam as a whole, we found to be a lovely place to visit, very picturesque, lots to do, lovely little cafes and the stereotypes that you normally associate Amsterdam with were limited and only there if you went looking for them!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.