We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“tiny luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

it will be the smallest room you have ever stayed in but it will be the cosiest and most luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    250
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
901
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Toren for 3 nights. We had their Bridal suite and it was just awesome! The hotel location is great, it is close to the Centraal Station and even closer to The Dam but far enough from the latter to keep you away from the crowd. You can reach both within a reasonable walking distance. The hotel is really close to the Jordaan Walk, where you can find all sort of restaurants and the Anne Frank museum is in the back corner of the block where the hotel is at; perfect! In that same block you have nice canal cruises departing almost all day long. The staff was absolutely lovely and always there for us. Our room had a nice touch of a Nespresso coffee machine with free coffee capsules and it was very spacious and clean. The bed was absolutely fantastic; clean, soft, real king size; all first class! The breakfast was delicious. Not about quantity but had great quality at a reasonable price of 12 Euros per person. Nothing outrageous, although you can eat cheaper really close to the Hotel if you want; we didn't.
Bottom line, whenever we go back to Amsterdam, The Toren is definitely our place to stay again. You really can't go wrong with it.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is very spacious and comfortable. Even if they don't face the canal, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We spent considerable time researching our hotel for this trip, and we were so happy with our decision! We stayed here for 10 days while in AMS, and the service and staff was AMAZING! The hotel was beautiful and the food was delicious! If I HAD to pick anything that I would have corrected... the room was a bit dusty, some of the furniture looked a bit abused, and the lights in our tub didn't work. But all-in-all these are very minimal things in my opinion, especially when you keep in mind that European standards for hotels are NOT the same as American, and this isn't five stars yet... though it feels like it definitely may be soon. And honestly, when you're thousands of miles from home, hotel service like this is priceless! Who wants to stay in a generic-looking hotel anyway?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

Young couple having a mini 2 night stay.
From the minute we pulled up we knew this was an amazing hotel.
The staff were so helpful down to helping us with parking, recommending restaurants, providing maps etc
Parking is provided by an external company who take your car to a secure parking facility as parking on the street is expensive (€45 for 24hrs)
We had a small double room and it was beautiful.
Literally could not fault this place at all.
So relaxed, great atmosphere and walking distance to lots of sights; Anne Franks House, The 9 Streets shopping, Dam Sqaure etc and of course, the red light district. Nearest tram stop is about 2 minutes walk away.
Will definitely come back, couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel has it all. Friendly helpfull staff, Great Location, Comfortable, Luxurious, Stylish rooms. Delicious breakfasts. It is simply the most perfect plce to stay in Amsterdam. I can honestly say I have never felt so welcome in any other hotel as I did in the Toren.

Room Tip: We had a room which was discounted and described as "smaller" than the normal rooms. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My boyfriend took me to Amsterdam for my birthday last week and we stayed at The Toren. The hotel was kept a surprise to me, and what a lovely surprise it was! Both buildings are 17th century canal houses looking onto the Keizersgracht. The main building seemed lovely, the reception staff were very helpful and the porter who carried our bags and showed us to our room was chatty and pleasant. We didn't drink in the bar, but the porter showed us it anyway and it looked amazing! We were staying in the annex building, just a couple of doors down the street, and it was equally lovely. The decor throughout is very sumptuous and decadent. Our room was a double, with an amazing bath/shower (VERY deep bath and VERY powerful shower) ensuite. Again the furnishings were lovely in various shades of red, burgandy and purple. The room itself was on the small side, but I gather that that's a feature of the canal houses. It was a great touch to have a Nespresso machine in the room too. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but does provide a menu from the nearby Christophe's, a formerly Michelin starred place (1989-2006), and will deliver - we didn't take them up on this but had a look at the menu and it looked very good, although unsurprisingly quite pricey. The location is great, being a stone's throw from the Anne Frank Huis and 5/10 minutes walk from Dam Square. We'd definitely recommend going to The Toren!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Just had a great stay at the lovely Hotel Toren! Kind, helpful staff, plush room, ever so comfortable bed and linens (and a jacuzzi - well worth it on chilly nights). The hotel was professional yet intimate. Loved waking up to one of the best hotel breakfasts ever. Truly a destination in itself. Highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.