We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Camano Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at the Toren Hotel for 10 days and can't wait to go back. The Toren is a beautiful and unique boutique hotel on Amsterdam's most beautiful canal. The ambiance was wonderful, I can't rave enough about the customer service and friendliness of the staff. It was first class from facilities, staff, to food and beverage. It is in a perfect location central to the best part of Amsterdam. We travel often and the Toren tops our list of favorites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,087
    235
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
116
810
92
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at the Toren for a quick, overnight,child-free getaway. I searched for a few days looking for the best hotel in Amsterdam. After looking at most of the 5 star hotels without making a desicion, I decided to check the trip advisor ratings. Wow, so glad we did. The Toren lived up to all the reviews and more. Great room rate, Rooms decadent-jacuzzi in the middle of the room, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much. We loved our stay from beginning to end and only wished we had been able to stay longer. Enjoyed the breakfast as well. Really nothing negative to say. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stop looking. Book the Toren. You could spend all day considering other hotels but the Toren is central, beautiful, sumptuous, and is completely made glorious by its outstanding service from friendly English-speaking staff. Let’s be honest, if you’re paying money to go somewhere, you want to have your needs met, you want somewhere beautiful and safe you can look forward to going to sleep in, and you want to feel you got value for money.
After our 4day stay I can honestly say that even though there were some glitches (the underwater light in our double Jacuzzi didn’t come on – shock) the staff instantly move to ‘make it better’ (quick, have a drink on us to say sorry) and little touches like the VERY kind Wendy on reception totally surprising us with complimentary champagne and chocolates because she’d heard we were there for a birthday and anniversary... just gorgeous.
We had breakfast (which they kindly designed to our wishes at no extra cost) in the room whilst wearing the fluffy robes and slippers provided, we had drinks in the glamorous and stately bar, we walked along the canal and round the corner to Anne Frank house, we shopped at the little boutiques 2mins away. I slept like I’ve never slept before in the massive comfy bed.
We stayed in the annexe but it felt exactly like the main hotel as the decor and branding is identical. Our room was not canal side but instead had a little terrace, shared with one other room.
Only negatives I could find – Our drawer unit was tiny and drawers kept sticking. Terrace was not cleaned in the 4 days we were there - a glass was left on the little table outside. One lightbulb was out in our chandelier. We didn’t mention these whilst there. Coffee machine broken when we arrived – replaced as soon as we mentioned it. Our Jacuzzi light not working, free drinks given as mentioned before... Not much really.
I could have had these same ‘glitches’ in another hotel and been left feeling cheated, but because at the Toren it seems to be all about their lovely staff and the instant attempt to make you happy as soon as they hear of a glitch – that is priceless. Overall this is a hotel I can wholeheartedly recommend, just like most of the other reviews - people rave like about the Toren for a reason. We’ve stayed in lovely hotels in California, Hawaii, France and Spain and indeed others in Amsterdam, but this has been the best service and overall experience that we’ve had. Thank you Wendy and the Toren, we will be coming back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

i stayed at the magnificent Toren Hotel in late 2009 - what a memorable experience it was. the staff were simply amazing throughout my whole stay - nopthing was too much trouble for them, and considering I work at a high level in the industry that is saying something. the rooms, while small (common in Amsterdam), were quite amazing. The position is ideal. In a nutshell, an incredible ghotel, one that I have recommended to many since my stay. I am soon to arrive back at the hotel. The reception team have gone out of there way to make sure that everything is perfect for me, and I haven't even arrived yet! I can't wait to be back in The Toren in four weeks.......

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Everyone has stayed at a hotel that helped define their vacation. You may love the city that you are visiting but if the hotel is sub-par, you'll always remember your trip as less than perfect. Likewise, you may have visited somewhere that doesn't rank highly on your "places I've been" list but the hotel was spectacular and helped make your trip memorable. Well, the Toren is one of those vacation-defining hotels.

Do not let the eight months between our stay and this review lead you to believe we are less than enthusiastic about our experience. The Toren ranks as perhaps the best hotel in which we have ever stayed for every reason important to travelers. The property itself is exquisite and has masterfully intertwined history and interior design with all the amenities expected at a first class hotel. The rooms were, as you have likely read, small but they are beautiful, comfortable, and a treat to come back to after a long day in the city...and book a room with a canal view - it makes the room.

The charm of the hotel is that it sits amongst the homes of Amsterdamers on the Keizersgracht, just steps away from the Westerkerk, Anne Frank Huis, and outstanding restaurants. When coming and going from the Toren, you feel more like you are visiting someone's home than a hotel -- no elevators, overdone lobbies, or tourists milling about.

Beautiful hotel in an excellent location - but what about the service? Well, to say the least, the service was outstanding. The staff is warm and inviting -- whether it was at check-in, during breakfast, each day when we asked for advice on dinner, or when we wanted an amazing cappucino at the bar, we were always treated like guests, not people they were paid to serve. As foodies, we give the front desk staff an A+ on recommendations. Amsterdam is a melting pot of cultures so every day we had amazing dinners from around the world - Indian, Spanish, Italian, Indonesian, and yes, Dutch - and all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

We were thrilled at the rate we booked online at their site -- albeit it was March and off season so likely quite a bit less than summer but whatever the rate is during the high season, book it - you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Canal view -- absolutely worth the extra rate - see and hear the city when in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here in early Nov 2011 and had a great experience. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. When the internet did not work, we were given complimentary drinks at the bar and the front desk staff looked up what we needed. The location was convenient to the main square and good restaurants. The only negative was that my room smelled a bit smoky and dusty due to the heavy draperies, but the comfortable bedding and great bathroom made up for that.

Room Tip: A regular double is quite small, so if you can afford the doubles with canal view, the room is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

For a romantic weekend away you couldn't better the Toren. Everything was perfect, the location was spot on and the hotel was so opulent it was stunning. I have never experienced better service in a hotel, there wasn't any exceptions, every member of staff went out of their way to help and advise. The rooms were immaculate, not the largest but adequate. The bedding was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of it. There was champagne on ice when we arrived which was a lovely surprise. We had a canal view which was a real bonus, we would sit with a coffee before breakfast and watch the boats motoring up and down the canal. Although we were at the front of the hotel it was never noisy. Breakfast was beautiful, couldn't fault it and our pre-dinner cocktails were as good as they get. Can't really fault this place at all, but I'm not sure I would take my kids here. No specific reason other than it feels very much an adults only hotel due to opulence and intimacy of the place. In fact I didn't spot a child the whole time we were there!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for canal view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.