We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing faulty about this tower!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nothing faulty about this tower!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

What a little gem in the middle of the city. Now I finally have a hotel to recommend in AMS. My friend stayed here for a few nights, got an excellent deal, was treated like a queen by the management. We even got free cocktails (pssst). And the room was lovely and cosy, including Rituals products. A feel good place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,091
    236
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
116
815
92
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were staying in other hotel (Park Hotel) but wanted to know this hotel due to the excellent reviews read in Tripadvisor. So we went riding our bikes around Amsterdam and stop to see The Toren. We just loved it and made reservation to stay 3 nights!
It’s an amazing old house on the canal with elegant decorated rooms and an outstanding staff.
Our room was in the next building but was exactly decorated as the ones in the main one. Bathroom was big, clean and new. Although I must recognice that being in the second building is not the same as being in the main one, we loved the room and the hotel.
The buffet breakfast has a small but has an excellent selection, and a very good attention. Excellent value for the price!
The best of the hotel is the staff. The service they provide is absolutely sublime! They have recommendations for everything, restaurants, shops, tours, and they even rent bikes from MacBike at the same price!
We loved the coffee machine in the room, the free wifi, the breakfast, the location, the canal, the bikes, the recommendations, everything was perfect!
We recommend it and will surely return!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The best hotel we ever stayed in. Most hotels are more of the same, just a bed in a room. This boutique hotel has a beautiful warm old style decor, yet modern, with Jacuzzi bath and large shower in the room. The staff were friendly but not intrusive and gave good advice on restaurants, etc. After our meal out we arrived back to the small bar lounge (again tastefully decorated) , and had a few drinks in a warm atmosphere, the word warm describes most things in this hotel. We confirmed our dates early and got a very good rate - I think we were bumped up to a superior room.. Great location, easy walking distance to centre or tram to other areas. First visit to Amsterdam...will return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Beautiful old hotel with a fabulous decor. Very romantic for couples. Arrived after 11 p.m. & Robby was waiting for us to take our bags to our room. He then said if we wanted a drink in the lounge he was prepared to serve us for as long as we liked. The breakfast was outstanding. The best part is the staff who make you feel at home and are very efficient at their jobs. We did have a misunderstanding over the breakfast charge (in hindsight I'm sure it was my fault due to menopause memory problems) and the owner took care of it immediately. The owners of the hotel definitely make you feel like you are important. We stayed 3 nights and had a room overlooking the canal. As the blossoms were just coming out, it was beautiful. The hotel also has an inner courtyard to sit in - which is quite private. We're from westcoast of Canada and this was our first visit to Amsterdam. We felt quite safe and if we make it back again, we'll only be staying at The Toren Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I booked the Toren in Amsterdam after reading the glowing reviews on tripadvisor and it was worth every penny. We got upgraded because it was our honeymoon and we had the most beautiful room with a huge comfy bed, a whirlpool, it may not have been a huge room but it was so romantic and plush, it was just perfect. The service from the front desk to the porter to the guys in the breakfast room was top notch, the bar is absolutely gorgeous, breakfast was yummy and nothing was too much trouble. The location is fantastic, just a stroll to Dam Square and there's lots of lovely bars for people watching just around the corner. It's a stunning little boutique hotel and if you're dithering over whether to book or not, book now!! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Let them know if it's a special occasion, we did and got upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Autralia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

A great example of a small hotel that does things right.. Where this hotel stands out is the attention to detail like the breakfast selection being smaller than other hotels but every item is of top quality. Our room had a robe and safe room with a privacy door, very useful if you forget to close the windows. The nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch. The rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable beds and beautifully themed decor. beautiful views over the canals, fantastic central location. The staff are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very very helpful and pleasant staff, great location, good price (100 Euro) for small double room - although didn't get breakfast and interesting room deco. Would strongly recommend for couples

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.