We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moulin Rouge comes to Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Moulin Rouge comes to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Having read other reviews, I can agree that the uncollected rubbish around the canals was a bit surprising and disappointing, as we have never encountered the situation in Amsterdam previously. Perhaps there is some industrial action?
However, this in no way affected the sultry fun of the Toren. Better to stay in luxury when there is rubbish in the streets than in a hovel, I'd say.
The rooms are small- no doubt. We were upgraded to a canal deluxe and although we had to shuffle around the room with suitcases, it in no way affected the magic of the giilts, crimsons and blacks of the room. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and served in a simply gorgeous room which owes more to Moulin Rouge than Van Gough. Sumptuous, splendid and a lot of fun. Reception staff were smiling, fun, helpful and a good introduction to the experience. A great place for a little fantasy for the real world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    250
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
126
905
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We fell in love with this hotel. The location is great - it's in a safe, quiet area that's accessible to the main attractions. It's also really unique - the decor is sultry and a tad on the saucy side (I love the photos in the hallway and in the lounge area - if they don't bring a smile to your face I'm not sure what will !!). The lounge is really cosy and perfect for a pre or post dinner drink. We had a standard double room in the main building which was more than adequate in size for our 4 night stay. Have to mention the bed and the pillows, they were amazingly comfortable - we never slept so well. The staff are really helpful - nothing seems too much trouble. I had difficulty booking a particular restaurant so I emailed the reception and they sorted it out for me. We having nothing negative to say - (well other than it rained pretty much constantly when we were in Amsterdam but you can't blame The Toren for the weather!).

So if you want a hotel that has a saucy smile and a twinkle in its eye then you won't be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have no reason that the hotel is not an authentic canal house from a former grand era.. However the area was littered with household rubbish, the canals were filthy and the cyclists prepared to run us down-we felt physically threatened until I used an umbrella to ward them off! You have difficulty presenting a premium property whether in Amsterdam or Cairo if you are surrounded by uncollected rubbish and filth.
The staff at reception were excellent, but the room was small (we arranged a larger canal view room) and dark. Day after day many of the bath towels in the room were frayed at the edges- just not up to the mark.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

this is really nice place. of course the rooms are bit small and make sure you request to stay in the main building and you wont get to enjoy the bar. really enjoy the burlesque feel of the place and the location is amazing. prob not the best value for money but worth the treat if you are in the mood to spend a little extra money

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with 2 children in separte beds in the Bridal Suite - a very large bedroom with a downstairs bathroom. The kids loved the huge jacuzzi, although the narrow stairs down are not for the frail (needs another handrail). Plus a makeshift balcony for drinks on the roof accessible by climbing through the window ! The hotel breakfast is better value (extra $12 per adult) than anything around and the lounge and rooms are fascinatingly decorated. Good reception service, easy to get the car parked via their B Smart service.

Die Toren has an enormous variety of good restaurants close by, such as Prego. The Boathouse Canal Cruises start just around the corner (better than going to the station). In all the hotel offered a great room wiith lots of space and great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

Those of you who use Trip Advisor to help you select hotels are unhappily familiar with these typical types of review: the "we didn't get treated exactly like we wanted, so this hotel is terrible" review, the "something extraordinarily horrible happened not ever experienced by any other guest, so this hotel is terrible" review, and on the other end of the spectrum, the "this is absolutely the greatest place in the entire universe, even though we haven't traveled everywhere, but this hotel is extraordinary" review.  

My review of Hotel Toren isn't any of these review types, but this hotel IS extraordinary. 

Yes, the location is excellent: overlooking Keisergracht canal, a short walk from the Anne Frank House, Nieuw Kerke, the Jordaan neighborhood with terrific restaurants and shopping, and a key tram line. 

Yes, the web site photos of the rooms, the breakfast area, the garden, and the lounge can be depended on: luxurious, comfortable, inviting, and  beautifully appointed.

Yes, the breakfast is delicious and generous, and the bar is well-stocked with top drawer bottles, good wines, and tasty snacks.

But the key to why the Hotel Toren is extraordinary is the PEOPLE who work there, from the owners to the reception team to the bartenders, waiters, bellmen, and, maid staff.  

One expects the reception staff to be knowledgeable about the city, local restaurants, and inside information about local events...and the reception staff's ability to tune into our interests quickly was amazing - their dining suggestions were perfect and their help with our itinerary was spot on.

One expects good service from staff at meals and in the bar, but this team had the right mix of attentiveness, skill, and unobtrusiveness, to make our experience very comfortable.

Most of all, the Hotel Toren staff was KIND...not a term one usually applies to hotel staff.  

When I was injured in a fluke accident my first day ( I tripped on the street, sprained my ankle and broke my wrist), the owners and staff helped clean me up, get me to a hospital, find a wheelchair to use during my stay...every day, they anticipated my needs for ice for my ankle, taxis to get around, a helping hand to go up and down stairs, to carry myq wheelchair through the lobby...all without a grumble. They did it out of kindness and concern, as one would have for a friend or family member.  My wife and I have stayed at good hotels and B & Bs, and we have stayed at great ones...but never have we experienced a hotel staff that was so human, so capable, and so kind.

That is why the Hotel Toren is extraordinary. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We absolutely loved this place! The front desk clerks and concierge were very helpful with suggesting places to visit and restaurants. They upgraded us for free to the royal suite which is HUGE. We even ordered room service late at night and they searched everywhere to get us pizza and ice cream! Top people in a top boutique hotel. Beautiful area. Very centrally located. We walked everywhere we needed to go with no problems. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: You can probably upgrade for free if the room is available in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.