We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We loved this hotel and were sad when it was time to leave. Everything was so beautiful, we felt so relaxed and peaceful. My wife called it the "petit-Versailles".
We booked for a deluxe room and were upgraded to the Royal Bridal Suite upon arrival. This is in the annex a few doors down. This annex has a wonderful entrance hallway and the room is fabulous. It was luxurious and huge. The room is actually 2 floors with the huge bathroom downstairs. The bath is a whirl-pool bubble bath and there is a large shower as well, 2 sinks,...and many nice soaps, etc...
The room has a large bed, fireplace and of course everything you need to be comfortable. The windows open to a patio on the back, although this may not be an official hotel garden yet. The main building has a garden for people to enjoy and lounge around in.
The staff is amazing, so friendly and helpful at all times.
The location is wonderful, right in the beautiful canal district a block from the Anne Frank house. It is a great area day and night.
The breakfast buffet was a real treat. Very nice food in a very beautiful setting. We looked forward to having breakfast there every morning. The hotel doesn't have an official dinner but they said they can make whatever you want whenever you want. The bar and dining area is really nice.
We would love to go back. We booked because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and now also highly recommend The Toren. The Toren is a wonderful memory for us.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    266
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
1,012
114
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I had spent alot of time researching the hotels in Amsterdam before we went for our wedding anniversary, and am so glad we chose this hotel. The staff were excellent,so friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, and I also have to comment on how comfortable the bed was....it was heaven after the day walking around the city. Can't wait to return one day...hopefully soon.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at The Toren during a short beak and were absolutely delighted by this lovely hotel. The location on the canal was perfect for sight-seeing and the staff were welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was decorated beautifully and there were even strawberries and chocolates to cheer a weary traveller on arrival. The beds were extremely comfortable and a proper coffee-machine was available for your early morning cuppa. The breakfast was delicious, varied and plentiful and set us up for the days of sight-seeing. Thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Amazing!!!!! 4 star, more like 5 star!!! Thank you! It truely was like heaven! My husband and i went for our 10 year annivesary and it felt like another honeymoon. Sooo Romantic and Elegant. It was like a someplace from a movie that you would look at and say you wish you could go there, and we did. Amsterdam was By far our favorite on our European trip. We loved it so much we extended our stay an extra day! You first walk up to this luxurious hotel full of antiques, beautiful red & black wall paper, and baroque like furniture! Then, we were greeted by nothing but smiles by the front desk! The room was like paradise, the bed was soft and fluffy like a cloud, there was also choc and strawberries waiting for us in the room. Also, a beautiful tuch was our names on the tv welcoming us, so waming! This staff by far were the best, not only with help around beautiful Amsterdam, but all around People! Good and true! Hard to find in a hotel in home town. Words can not thank them enough! Thank you to all; Wendy,Rule, Thomas, Sirella, Danielle, and all the otter amazing staff, bar tenders and security. You made our trip one we will always talk about in years to come! We will be back and will never stay anywhere else but the Toren!! Thank you for such an wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is where you want to stay in Amsterdam
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

we enjoyed our stay very much.nice location.price/quality of breakfast very well.excellent service.clean room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews and talking with a friend who had spent a month in Amsterdam. He was right; this is the best neighborhood in Amsterdam and I don't think we would have enjoyed the city as much if we had stayed in a different location. The hotel staff was terrific, helpful and fun to talk to. Also on the plus side, great bed and bath linens. We had dinner a couple of nights at the Seasons restaurant which I would strongly recommend which is just a few blocks from the hotel. The common areas at the hotel are nicely done and the breakfast is goo.
On the not so great side, the room was quite small so that you did not want to hang out there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

It was really remarkable from the minute we arrived and entered the doors.Despite images, it isnt until you arrive that you really get a feel for the style+atmosphere of the hotel.Its both cozy and edgy with its decor and personality.It is truly an escape from your normal hotel which is what a vacation is all about!Great attention to detail, fantastic staff who help you with anything you need and you cant beat the location.Hotels call themselves hip+boutique and as avid travelers we can honestly say that this hotel puts those to shame.If you can, stay in the Royal Suite and enjoy the outdoor patio and the jacuzzi downstairs!There is nowhere else we will stay when we return to AMS and have recommended it to everyone I know.Congrats to the owners+their staff.What a gem!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.