We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grown up Alice in Wonderland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai
1 review
“A grown up Alice in Wonderland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

It was really remarkable from the minute we arrived and entered the doors.Despite images, it isnt until you arrive that you really get a feel for the style+atmosphere of the hotel.Its both cozy and edgy with its decor and personality.It is truly an escape from your normal hotel which is what a vacation is all about!Great attention to detail, fantastic staff who help you with anything you need and you cant beat the location.Hotels call themselves hip+boutique and as avid travelers we can honestly say that this hotel puts those to shame.If you can, stay in the Royal Suite and enjoy the outdoor patio and the jacuzzi downstairs!There is nowhere else we will stay when we return to AMS and have recommended it to everyone I know.Congrats to the owners+their staff.What a gem!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    225
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
761
90
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel is in a perfect spot, opposite a canal and really near all the major attractions without being in the heart of the tourist area. It's setting was tranquil, but it had loads of great bars and cafes behind it...all full of locals too so it was definitely a great spot to be in! The rooms were very small and a touch dated, but the comfort factor of the bed more than made up for that, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the bar area was nice and sumptuous. All in all this hotel had a great feel to it and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We took the Royal bridal suite which was georgeous!!!
The service provided by the receptionist is very very kind ,pleasent,welcoming and patient.
The area of the hotel is great , very nice to be in a hotel which is in a residential area.You feel less as a tourist and more as a local.
We were each time impressed to see the canal in front of the exit (and entrance) of the hotel.Great view &feeling.
The only 2 little drawbacks are that the bathroom is in a lower level of the room with narrow stairs in between, and the lack of bottles of water provided to the guests especially for making coffee.
We did not try the breakfast but it looked awesome.
Thank you very very much for your great hospitality.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay at your marvellous hotel – I will like to give you the very best recommendations.

Room not at all as small as I had expected/feared – and very nice deco.

Arrived rather early, and was able to get the room early – very nice.

We were out shopping, sightseeing, dining all day and returned to the hotel 10 pm. Even thought my daughter just turned 7 she uses a diaper at night – and yes I forgot to bring them… Called the front desk around 10:30 pm to ask where we might be able to buy some at the late hour. 5 minutes later a charming young man knocked our door with 5 diapers – excellent service. I was just so very relived and happy about the excellent service.

Breakfast was VERY nice, warm delicious bread, fresh baked croissants, eggs lot’s of cheese – all we could want and more – especially taking into consideration this is a small hotel – it sure didn’t show in the large selection of breakfast.

Excellent location, easy and very charming walk to all of central.

ALL staff was very sweet, helpful and very effective and fast.

Charming little garden, where we enjoyed something cold to drink, before we left for the airport.

Suggestion of improvement: Clearly state if a room booked is not in the main building (even though the other building is just as charming) I personally did not like there were no staff on duty at night in the building our room was in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

A very stylish hotel centrally located esp for the Jordaan area, where there are good restaurants and an interesting market on a Saturday. The staff are attentive and helpful. Our room although small was nicley decorated and had all you would expect from a city centre hotel. Some intersting posters on the wall also entertained. A good breakfast in lush surroundings which served until 11.30 at the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stayed at the Toren in March...my boyfriend and I were doing a mini Euro Trip, hitting up Ireland, The Netherlands and Germany. This was our second stop. I loved this hotel...it's different. The decor is darker and kinky and just...different :-). We stayed in the cottage in the back of the hotel as my guy smokes and it was the most conveniant for him. Only thing I'll say, I loved the rom, a tad small, but big for Europe standards. The room was cleaned immaculately every day. Kudos to the maid staff, they did a great job. The bartenders could mix a drink and were very friendly and talkative if you engaged them. The bar, we ate lunch there one day. The club sandwhich was great! The front desk, the ladies there were friendly and informative, helped us out a lot and spoke very good english. Overall very impressed, I only gave it four stars because if you stay in the cottage expect some outside noise. There was a kids birthday party out there one day...they were quite loud. And there is actually quite a bit of traffic back there...people traffic, kids every so often playing. We really didn't care, it didn't bother us too much. But when people are staying there on vacation, some look for peace and quiet, if you want that...I wouldn't suggest the cabin. Would I stay again...in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Beautiful boutique hotel! Wonderful staff (friendly, helpful, welcoming) and perfect location. I stayed at the Toren as I was attending a conference in the city and I did not have a chance to try the very beautiful bar or use hotel services that much, but the atmosphere is truly unique - a blend of traditional Dutch house, OTT decor all red and black and purple velvets and brocades and chandeliers and candles and modern facilities. I had a cozy room with view over the canal and big bathroom. They serve a nice buffet breakfast at reasonable price and it was amazing value for money.
The only thing they could improve is maintenance in the rooms - no major problems but a bit more attention to details would be good.
It is the perfect place for a romantic weekend - too bad I was there alone.
And staff if fantastic - from reception, to breakfast to porters

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.