We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #91 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Our 3 night stay at this hotel was very good, staff where friendly and attentive, seating area at front of the hotel.
Room was clean and compact but adequate and I am 6ft5, all the usual facilities in the room and free wifi all worked well. Location for the museums, Vondelpark all great, roghs deli around the corner is good for breakfast if you dont have it included. Didnt eat here but Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your 3 night stay at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our staff. I will personally make sure to share your kind comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you again when returning to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    583
    175
    40
    14
See reviews for
203
475
82
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for a Hen weekend with my friends (8 in total) and loved this hotel.
I requested rooms together and we got this which was wonderful. The rooms were very nicely decorated and spacious with lovely Air Con to help with the warm heat.
The staff were so accommodation and helped with our every need and constantly called us taxi's.
We had a variety of things booked so it was cheaper to taxi around as there was so many of us.
The city is gorgeous, the people are so friendly and we did so many fun things and the memories unforgettable.
There is lovely little eateries nearby to have breakfast and lunch which is also great.
The mini bar is good as is the vending machines.
Overall I would LOVE to return to this hotel it was perfect in every way and I cannot fault a thing.
Thank you for a memorable stay and lovely bed :)))))
xxx Nikki and the Hen's from Glasgow :) xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nikki and friends,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I will share with our staff. We are thrilled to hear to you and your friend enjoyed your stay and time in Amsterdam.

We look forward to weloming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I just stayed at this hotel for 6 nights without any problems.
My room was very small but modern and very clean. I am picky when it comes to sheets (allergic to starch) and I am pleased to say that I had a very good sleep in a comfy bed with soft sheets.
Whenever I spoke to staff they were extremely helpful and friendly.
If I would have been there for a holiday I think I would have liked more choices for breakfast, and I could not work out where to toast the bread...
As I was on a business trip a quick breakfast was absolutely fine.
The area is great with many bars and restaurants in walking distance. The hotel itself was very quiet.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Lilly,

Thank you for taking some of your time to write this excellent four star review on TripAdvisor.
It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about our services and facilities.

Regarding our breakfast facility, please note that you can always ask our staff for assistance with for example toasting the bread.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences and we hope to be able to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Amsterdam is a fun city but on a business trip I don't want a noisy street and loud drunks in the hallway at 3am. The Mercure is a quiet hotel in a quiet but very useful location, close to transport, the RAI and all the fun. The staff are professional, always. The rooms are large by Dutch standards and who needs more in this town. I shared a three bed room with my son and it was fine. A little alcove for the third bed offered a little privacy. When I'm in Amsterdam this is were I stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for writing a five star review on TripAdvisor, we very much appreciate your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback!

I am glad tat you and your son again enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you back with us.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I like the location of the hotel- a quiet residential neighbourhood and I've stayed here in the past.
I think I would probably have given 4 stars, were it not for the hideous decoration of the room. The rooms don't seem to get much light and would benefit from light coloured decor. The actual decor is garish with striped carpets and striped floor in bathroom. and dark blue walls with pink at the windows. There was a huge lampshade which would totally out of proportion. Some of the furniture was glass or plastic. Shudder.
The pipes were very noisy and the wifi had issues. Decent choice at the buffet breakfast though the scrambled eggs tended to be cold.
Reception staff were pleasant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Bonnie,

Thank you for still thinking about your stay at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer and sharing your experiences. We always appreciate such open and honest comments.

Perhaps it is time to plan a trip to Amsterdam again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just spent 4 days in Amsterdam and the Arthur Frommer was great - away from the centre but close enough to stroll in - or hire a bike and see the city in style. Very friendly staff. Room was small but well equipped,modern & clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your great review!
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.