We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #82 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bedford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quiet location great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent 4 days in Amsterdam and the Arthur Frommer was great - away from the centre but close enough to stroll in - or hire a bike and see the city in style. Very friendly staff. Room was small but well equipped,modern & clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your great review!
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    547
    159
    36
    14
See reviews for
190
439
80
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel after a lot of research for a 4 day break with my partner. The most important thing for me is that I found a hotel that was clean and we'll locate - and that's exactly what I got!

After booking, and a few days before arrival, I emailed the hotel directly for their help with getting to the hotel from the airport. I had a very quick and helpful response from them giving me all the options available to us. We settle on the Connexxion Airport Shuttle at €17 each for a single journey. When leaving the airport, if you follow the signs for 'airport shuttle' and look for bay A7, you will see a shuttle that takes you directly to the hotel and only takes around 25 minutes. Another request that was met by the hotel was a quiet room. We were given room 223 and heard no noise at all.

Upon arrival there were around 4 people waiting to check in. Having only one person dealing with this made check in a little slow but when checking in the receptionist was lovely, handing us a map and all the information we needed to know.

Our room was perfect for our needs, not huge but very clean and stylish and after all, it was only for sleeping in! The bathroom was very modern although a little narrow and as with most hotels, there isn't a door on the shower so the floor did get a little wet.

The hotel is located perfectly and we were able to walk to all of the main attractions within 25 minutes. However there is a tram line on the Main Street if needed.

Amsterdam is a beautiful city and this hotel is the perfect base as it's close enough to everything but also far enough away to be out of the noise that goes with it.

Lovely hotel and staff and I would definitely recommend it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Lisa,

We appreciate your extensive and kind feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive words. I am very happy that you enjoyed a perfect time in Amsterdam and with us.

Thank you for recommending us, and it is in our hope to welcome you back again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location and rate were convenient, that's why I chose it. Expect a small room, had to move the bed in order to be able to work at the desk. So let's say it was cozy and very clean. Because I was close to the reception and entrance, there was some noise when other guests left or arrived. The staff is friendly, and helpful, so all in all was a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Janet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to hear you satisfaction about our friendly and helpful staff. However, I am sorry about the noise disturbance. This does not reflect the usual level of service you would like to offer our guests.

We truly hope we are able to serve you again in the future. Please contact us directly to share your preference for a room.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay there- it's a boutique hotel located close to the museums, about a mile from the Flower Market. The room is small but tidy, with a hip look to it; the staff is professional, and the location is what makes it absolutely outstanding- Amsterdam is a walkable city, and having a place as "base" close to all the attractions, yet tucked away from some of the louder thoroughfares, makes this a go-to spot. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your outstanding words regarding you recent stay at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would love to welcome you again in teh future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You near all that you can think as Tourist trolly , meusam
If you need duration umbrella the gave us
The serve coffe tea at your room too
Small news ,
I just fall in love with them even we had power out for some time the Handel it well

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful staff and convenient situation.
I am very sorry to hear about light issue, however I am glad that you are so fan of our staff that your did not bother too much.

I truly hope that the inconvenience regarding the light matter will not influence your confidence in Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer and that we are able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I'll start with the good things:
It's perfectly located, really close to Vijzelgracht and Reguliersgracht, tram lines 16, 24 and 4, and in a walking distance to the musuemplain, Heineken, Dam square, Leidesplein and Rembrantplein. We walked back to the hotel every night (since the tram lines ends at ~00:30). The room was clean and the staff was helpful and nice.

There are a few problems with this hotel:
1. It's rated as a 4 star hotel but it really feels like a 3 star hotel. We were given a really really small room with a weird upper windows. We asked the front desk to change a room (they were kind and understanding) and they showed us a room in a similar size with a regular window. Since the original room seemed to be quieter, we kept it.
2. There is no bath. Just a shower without a door and a narrow bathroom with toilet. So after taking a shower, the entire bathroom was filled with water. Needless to say that 2 individuals can't be in the bathroom at the same time.
3. The price. Oh the price. It cost us about 200 eur a night (Thursday to Sunday, 3 nights). I stayed in Rome, Paris and Vienna in 4 stars hotels, never paid 200 eur a night and all of the hotels were far superior than this one. There is also a city tax which is not included in the original price for some reason.
4. We didn't ate breakfast at the hotel since it costs 18.5 eur while the surrounding coffee and restaurants offer a full English breakfast or simpler breakfast and coffee at prices ranging from 8 eur to 11 eur.

Had we paid 120 eur, I would have written that this hotel has a good value for money but for 200 eur a night, it simply doesn't worth it.
Try to find a cheaper deal...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Eyal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell a bit short.

Please note that booking via www.mercure.com/1032 or www.accor.com will guarantee you with the best rates available. This could definitely influence your opinion about of price/qulaity ratio.
However, I would like to thank you again for your constructive critisism as it help us to get better.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Del Este, Paraguay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The great great thing about this hotel is it's very convenient location. Very easy to talk everywhere and get around. As Amsterdam is a walking city, the best thing you want to do is find a hotel that is in the city center and plan your days around that.

The only cons are: the bed sheets, they aren't that great. i wouldn't even call them ordinary because they itch. The towels are old and raggedy, I think they need to be changed. The rooms don't really get cleaned everyday, they just tidy up the bed. The bathroom amenities don't get replenished and I'm pretty sure they don't vacuum the rugs either.

Overall: If you are looking for a convenient hotel that isn't too expensive, this is the place you want to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your extensive feedback, I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. However, I will pass on your comments regarding our sheets to our Executive Housekeeper, as this helps us to improve our quality of services.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.