We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Selecting an accommodation in Amsterdam is hard candy. The amount of hotels, pensions and b&b's is so high that it took us few days to look through them and choose one. Our primary demand was a parking space which in the city of canals is not too easy. Mercure Arthur Fromer was one of those who did have private parking space for guests even though the price for the aforementioned is sky rocketing. But that is the price you pay for your comfort. Finding a hotel in windy one way streets of Amsterdam was good game but after we did we were treated to a small and cosy friendly hotel which was also great starting point for all the sightseeing. Don't bother with breakfast here. There are plenty options nearby for half the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

I am delighted to read this review about your most recent visit. I am glad you have experienced our hotel as 'small and cosy'.
We very much hope that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and hopefully we can be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    564
    165
    38
    18
See reviews for
189
439
80
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, Il
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Although we had a better $ for the senior rate, what we got was well below its worth. 1. The room was very tiny just squeezing in twin beds, a desk and tv stand. Bathroom ok for one person and had been made up to date. Walls and furniture dented, scratched and the rug had small stains.
If there was only one single bed, the room would be ok for one person who did nothing except sleep and shower. Very small elevator and only push carts for self service baggage handling. If you have lots to lug, the front entry has 10 stairs to climb to the reception desk.
We had asked for early check in but when arrived, no luck. Stored luggage and went to the museum until 3 PM.
The pluses: One of the friendliest, customer care and service staffs I ever met. From room maid to reception desk to bar, WOW! 5 +++. They took care of us in every way and went out of their way to help with reservations, directions, internet (free!) and departure.
The minuses: In addition to above, hall rugs were stained badly in spots.
With the price of the Euro exchange and including the senior discount, this hotel should be a luxary Westin, not a Four Star. I give it two at best, mainly thanks to the great folks who work there.

Room Tip: To get a decent size room for two, you have to pay the extra M privledge upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear James,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Amsterdam Arhur Frommer as your accomodation choice during you recent trip to Amsterdam !

I am very sorry that you experience did not totally meet your expectations due to the dissatisfaction about the guestroom. Please note that guests can contact our Front Desk agents at any time during their stay to ask for assistance, for example for a roommove.

However, it is a pleasure to hear such lovely comments about our team. I will personally pass your kind comments on to our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you better in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great choice if you want to be within easy access of the museums, the canals and the historic centre of Amsterdam. Our room was a privilege room - not huge but attractive and comfortable. Above all this is in a quiet street and we certainly didn't spot anywhere we would rather be. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. We would certainly return on a future trip to this lovely city.

Room Tip: Our privilege room was close to the foyer and entrance. Looked out onto a quiet residential street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for your great review! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and ofcourse at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. It is a pleasure to hear that you will return in the future.

We look forward having you back with us.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location of the hotel is slightly away from the central square and thats a blessing. This way you are away from the noise and very close to Museumplein and Leidseplein. You are just 10 minutes away from Rijksmuseum.
The service of the hotel was very good. We were given a room on the third floor which is the top most floor and on our first night there was some noise outside the window which was incessant. We mentioned this to the reception the next morning and Amy very kindly arranged for a new room for us- a better room.
The rooms are comfortable, even if a bit small and they had a tea/ coffee machine- which is so handy.
My suggestion for improvement would be that in the second room we stayed- 228- the shower cubicle had no soap stand, so the soap gel had to kept on the ground and not terribly user friendly. Also the food in the hotel is very expensive, so step out and there are many options- all of which are good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding you recent stay with us.
I would like to apaologies for the inconvenience suffered during your first night.
However it is a pleasure to receive such kind comments about how our staff handeled the situation. I will personally pass on the compliments to Amy.

Once again, thank you for your extensive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I booked a privilege room and the entrance hall was nicely decorated with someone always there to help. After around 10pm at night the doors are locked for safety and have to ring a buzzer which was good.

The upgraded room came with a stocked mini-fridge of the basics (juice, water, pop and small snacks), a really comfortable double bed, TV with multi-language channels, a Nespresso machine and coffee, slippers, bathrobe and a morning paper of your choice (also a rocking chair)

The room itself was of a good size and airy with floor to ceiling windows; we loved! A few reviews have mentioned being woken up by the nursery opposite. We weren't woken up but when we did hear them it was nice to hear the little kids! The bathroom was nice too, pretty powerful shower!

Location wise, for us it was perfect. Right at the end of the Damrak/Rokin which meant we could walk all the way up and see everything possible. The hotel is to the east of Musuemplein about a 10 minute walk which was great to reach the Rijksmuseum (see separate review), etc. There are about 3 trams you can get which stop about 1 minute away from the hotel - numbers 16 and 24 if I remember correctly...so really easy to access.

We sat in the bar on one night which was spacious and decorated well, but we didn't have the breakfast.

The staff were great, giving us a map and showing us how to get to some restaurants, De Wallen and other key areas.

All in all a fabulous stay and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: I would just go for a privilege room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Nicole,

I am delighted to read your detailed review about your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed a perfect stay in Amsterdam.

I will pass your kind comments on to our staff members.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillingstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On arriving in Amsterdam we found the hotel quite difficult to find initially as it was hidden down a quiet lane but once we'd got our bearings found it well placed for walking into the main areas, canal trips, tram stops and buses.
The hotel was modern, very clean and well furnished. We travelled with Voyage Prive which included a premier room which was quite small but sufficient. Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable and we loved the coffee maker and the regular supply of coffee sachets.
Breakfast offered continental as well as scrambled egg (bit overcooked), bacon and sausage. We loved the fresh orange juice machine and the complementary take away cups of coffee.

Room Tip: Opt for a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review about your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your lovely comments on our extreme comfortable beds, nespresso machine and the breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on a next trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Located in a very quiet area about a 10 minute walk from the Museumplein...and a very short walk to the trams which will take you to Central Station and the Old Town. Loved the fact the hotel is away from most of the noise of Amsterdam, yet it is very accessible by foot or tram. Our room was very small, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about where to go in the area. Pretty pricey, but no more so than comparable hotels in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your four star review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure knowing you have enjoyed a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments on our location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

We look forward to serving you again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.