We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #96 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Shillingstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well placed modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On arriving in Amsterdam we found the hotel quite difficult to find initially as it was hidden down a quiet lane but once we'd got our bearings found it well placed for walking into the main areas, canal trips, tram stops and buses.
The hotel was modern, very clean and well furnished. We travelled with Voyage Prive which included a premier room which was quite small but sufficient. Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable and we loved the coffee maker and the regular supply of coffee sachets.
Breakfast offered continental as well as scrambled egg (bit overcooked), bacon and sausage. We loved the fresh orange juice machine and the complementary take away cups of coffee.

Room Tip: Opt for a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review about your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your lovely comments on our extreme comfortable beds, nespresso machine and the breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on a next trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    594
    177
    42
    14
See reviews for
205
488
82
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Located in a very quiet area about a 10 minute walk from the Museumplein...and a very short walk to the trams which will take you to Central Station and the Old Town. Loved the fact the hotel is away from most of the noise of Amsterdam, yet it is very accessible by foot or tram. Our room was very small, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about where to go in the area. Pretty pricey, but no more so than comparable hotels in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your four star review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure knowing you have enjoyed a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments on our location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

We look forward to serving you again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nice hotel and close to tram stop. Breakfast was good but like many hotels in Europe is overpriced. Our room was VERY small and if we stay again would upgrade to a premier room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your open and honest comments regarding your stay.
I will personally pass on your words to our team.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Situated in a quiet street, and within comfortable walking distance of Museumplein, this hotel is in a perfect spot. And a two minute walk will take you to a tram stop, where frequent trams will take you into the centre of Amsterdam in about 10-15 minutes.

The hotel itself is fine: clean and well-kept, with comfortable beds, good breakfast, reliable wi-fi, and wonderful staff. My only problem was that I could never get the keycard for my door to work - not in any way the fault of the staff, who responded to my (frequent) requests to have my cards reprogrammed with patience and courtesy! That apart, though, I had a great stay, and would very happily return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for all the complements in your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer.

Altough, I would like to express my sincere apologies regarding the inconvenient keycard issue. I am happy to hear that our Front Desk Agents could help you professionaly.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Amsterdam, for another great stay!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time. We had a lovely big corner room. Breakfast had lots of choice of either hot or cold items. The staff were very friendly and always took time to talk to us. Hotel was in a quiet area but it was easy to reach the sites by tram or walking.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer a second time. It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed another great stay with us.

We highly value your confidence in our hotel and would be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.