We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located and excellent services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #90 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly located and excellent services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect: you can easily reach any point of Amsterdam, while leaving from this place. The customer experience is excellent, here: the staff left me with a very good impression. the rooms are quite big and the beds are very comfortable. The food is very tasty. I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Howard,

Thank you for writing this excellent review on TripAdvisor. Your words regarding our staff and other facilities do us good !

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    583
    175
    40
    14
See reviews for
203
475
82
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Easy to reach from the Central train station via the Metro. Once you have found your bearings most tourist areas are within an easy walk. 5 minutes to the Rijks museum, 15 minutes to Ann Franks House and a similar walk to the centre. There are restaurants and places for breakfast within a couple of minutes.
We booked a standard room which while small felt bigger thanks to the very high ceilings. It came with a shower only. It was fine for our needs and very clean. As usual we booked well in advance and got a much better price. 3 nights at only a fraction more than the walk in price for 1 night.
I've had more comfortable beds, newer towels and quieter doors (other reviewers are correct they close with a slam so if you are a light sleeper be warned)! However, I would stay again and if you are happy with the brand you will know what to expect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

I am delighted to read your extensive review on TripAdvisor, may I thank you for that.
It was a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is great, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We were even upgraded to a better room because we were on our honeymoon! The staff was wonderful and helpful but the location is not the best. The area is residential, so it´s super quiet and very nice to walk around, but it´s far from the main tourist spots and dining aeras, so you end up taking taxis all the time of walking a lot to get back to the hotel. We are a young couple that loves walking around the cities, but unfortunately we think this hotel is unconveniently located for that purpose.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding you stay at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer very much. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. However, it is with regret to notice your dissatisfaction regarding our location.

Thank you for you open and honest feedback, and we wish to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I loved this hotel! Situated on a quiet street about 5 minutes from the main road and tram stop, it is quiet and cosy. The staff are friendly and helpful! I absolutely adore the complimentary use of the Nespresso machine at the lobby until 10 am! A real wake-up drink!

The room we stayed in was an upgraded room I think (we are Accor members) so it had its own nespresso machine too! The bed was big and really comfortable!

Another plus was the sumptuous breakfast! Plenty of cold cuts and hearty breads! Coffee and many kinds of tea plus freshly-squeezed orange juice right in front of your eyes!

There are many good restaurants and eateries near the hotel. I had horse meat steak at a little restaurant on the street leading to the hotel! From the outside, it didn't look like many people were at the restaurant but inside, it was a cosy little place and the proprietor was very friendly and offered an english menu seeing as we were not able to speak Dutch.

There's also a wonderful supermarket, Albert Hejn (spelled something like that) about 10 minutes walk away.

The only downside of the hotel is that the shower area in the bathroom doesn't have a door or a dividing partition so it can get kind of wet. The plumbing was a little noisy too if you didn't adjust the flush button just right!

I would love to go back again! I miss you Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Even though your stay was quit a while ago, you took the time to write an excellent review on TripAdvisor. I would like to express my appreciation and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel was very clean and organised. Sited only 15 mins walk from Dam square, which was easy to walk to. Staff at the hotel very helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble. Room very good and clean

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you very much for posting a 4star review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel ! It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback.

May we be your hosts again in the future?

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Fommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed in March 2014 and the location was great- easy to get everywhere but not too close to all the tourist tat. Had to change rooms after the 1st night due to loud bangs coming from the central heating (room 313). Rooms are small but nicely decorated. Service was very good all friendly and welcoming willing to help.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for taking some of your time to write a review about your experience at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us !

However, it is with regret to hear that you have experienced noise disturbance on your first night. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am very glad to hear that the Front Desk agents were able to offer you an immediate solution.

We, once again, would like to thank you for your comments and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.