We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly efficient hotel in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #108 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly efficient hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The welcome was great, the rooms well equipped and comfortable and the location excellent, in an elegant side street, within a few minutes` walk of the main museums and the central canal area.
There were cafes and restaurants nearby and you felt the area was relaxed and safe. Any hotel so convenient but also so quiet rates very highly for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Anne,

May I offer my sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback !

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    715
    217
    48
    18
See reviews for
246
597
93
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. The hotel is very nice, in a good location for walking to lots of sights, and the lobby is very stylish. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, and spoke perfect English.

We booked a triple room, which meant we had two twin beds plus a further single bed against the opposite wall. It did not feel too small even with three adults in the room, and we all felt very comfortable. I am 6' 3" and the beds were fine for someone of my height, which is not always the case in hotels.

If I had to make any criticism it would be that although the hotel is located on a very quiet street, the sound insulation in the room was poor, and we felt there was quite a bit of noise just from people passing in the courtyard outside and from other guests in the corridor. This may be a symptom of it being a converted older building, and it wasn't a huge problem for us as we always sleep with earplugs when staying in hotels so we weren't actually disturbed. However, if you aren't someone who uses earplugs I think you might find it quite loud. The noise wasn't helped either by the fact that the door to the room had a small gap at the base, allowing extra light and noise in from the corridor. The same was true of the bathroom door which also didn't touch the floor, so I'm not sure if Dutch doors are just like that generally, but it would have felt more sealed off from the corridor with a better fitting door on the room.

In general though I really liked the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a 4 star review on TripAdvisor ! I am very happy to read your praises about your stay at our hotel.

On behalf of the Mercure Arthur Frommer Team, once again we wish to thank you for your support and hope to serve you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It's in walking distance to everything - for those beer lovers, Heineken Brewery is just 5 minute walk down the road! We stayed here early January for 3 nights. Front desk staff were lovely and very knowledgeable, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Wide variety of foods for breakfast! A great hotel and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Kellie,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend with my Mum and sister. The hotel is lovely and was spotlessly clean. We had a spacious triple room on the first floor which actually had 4 beds in it. The staff were great, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Location is excellent. Close to everything but tucked away in a quiet street. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sandra,

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your kind words about our competent staff and our comfortable rooms. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and therefore your feedback is of great value to us.

On behalf of our hotel team, once again we wish to thank you for your continuous support and look forward to having you and your family back soon at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer.

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Arthur Frommer at the begining of January in a party of 6 for a short break weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Location; it is in a great location in a pretty suburb that is only a 15 minute walk into the centre or a short hop on the tram. There are plenty of very authentic bars and restaurants within walking distance that were great fun for both food and drinks.

Staff; the staff were excellent being welcoming, efficient and courteous. One of our party forgot his shaving kit and was provided one at the desk without any fuss.

Accommodation; the room was very airy and spotlessly clean. It was tastefully designed and had a good selection of toiletries etc. The layout was a bit quirky but then this is a converted historic building and it did enhance the boutique nature of the hotel. The public rooms were also designed in a very tasteful and stylish fashion and likewise kept spotless and tidy.

Value for money; the advertised prices at the desk reflected a city hotel but booking in advance on Expedia meant that we got a great deal.

Overall, a great hotel that I will certainly use again. Although it has the Mercure brand above the door it really felt like a one off privately owned hotel which reflects the hard work put in by the management and staff who deserve a big pat on the back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that your stay was more than comfortable. We are very happy with your kind words on our location, accommodation and the services from our staff.
We hope to may be your hosts again in the future ?

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#125 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#84 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#57 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#58 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, ACCOR, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.