We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice location, little bit loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #82 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice location, little bit loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. The hotel is very nice, in a good location for walking to lots of sights, and the lobby is very stylish. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, and spoke perfect English.

We booked a triple room, which meant we had two twin beds plus a further single bed against the opposite wall. It did not feel too small even with three adults in the room, and we all felt very comfortable. I am 6' 3" and the beds were fine for someone of my height, which is not always the case in hotels.

If I had to make any criticism it would be that although the hotel is located on a very quiet street, the sound insulation in the room was poor, and we felt there was quite a bit of noise just from people passing in the courtyard outside and from other guests in the corridor. This may be a symptom of it being a converted older building, and it wasn't a huge problem for us as we always sleep with earplugs when staying in hotels so we weren't actually disturbed. However, if you aren't someone who uses earplugs I think you might find it quite loud. The noise wasn't helped either by the fact that the door to the room had a small gap at the base, allowing extra light and noise in from the corridor. The same was true of the bathroom door which also didn't touch the floor, so I'm not sure if Dutch doors are just like that generally, but it would have felt more sealed off from the corridor with a better fitting door on the room.

In general though I really liked the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a 4 star review on TripAdvisor ! I am very happy to read your praises about your stay at our hotel.

On behalf of the Mercure Arthur Frommer Team, once again we wish to thank you for your support and hope to serve you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    547
    159
    36
    14
See reviews for
190
440
80
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It's in walking distance to everything - for those beer lovers, Heineken Brewery is just 5 minute walk down the road! We stayed here early January for 3 nights. Front desk staff were lovely and very knowledgeable, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Wide variety of foods for breakfast! A great hotel and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Kellie,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend with my Mum and sister. The hotel is lovely and was spotlessly clean. We had a spacious triple room on the first floor which actually had 4 beds in it. The staff were great, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Location is excellent. Close to everything but tucked away in a quiet street. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sandra,

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your kind words about our competent staff and our comfortable rooms. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and therefore your feedback is of great value to us.

On behalf of our hotel team, once again we wish to thank you for your continuous support and look forward to having you and your family back soon at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer.

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Arthur Frommer at the begining of January in a party of 6 for a short break weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Location; it is in a great location in a pretty suburb that is only a 15 minute walk into the centre or a short hop on the tram. There are plenty of very authentic bars and restaurants within walking distance that were great fun for both food and drinks.

Staff; the staff were excellent being welcoming, efficient and courteous. One of our party forgot his shaving kit and was provided one at the desk without any fuss.

Accommodation; the room was very airy and spotlessly clean. It was tastefully designed and had a good selection of toiletries etc. The layout was a bit quirky but then this is a converted historic building and it did enhance the boutique nature of the hotel. The public rooms were also designed in a very tasteful and stylish fashion and likewise kept spotless and tidy.

Value for money; the advertised prices at the desk reflected a city hotel but booking in advance on Expedia meant that we got a great deal.

Overall, a great hotel that I will certainly use again. Although it has the Mercure brand above the door it really felt like a one off privately owned hotel which reflects the hard work put in by the management and staff who deserve a big pat on the back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read that your stay was more than comfortable. We are very happy with your kind words on our location, accommodation and the services from our staff.
We hope to may be your hosts again in the future ?

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is in a good location as it's easy to walk to the centre of the city. The hotel was clean and the room itself was a decent enough size. The staff were friendly enough. I enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments ! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.