We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claustrophobic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The good points first. Location is ideal; near the Museums and de Pijp, and on a side street. The lobby was fine, and the staff were efficient enough.
But the room was an attic garret. There was barely space to move in it, and the sense of claustrophobia was added to by the fact there was only a Velux window, so it had no proper it view outside. The beds were poor too. We'd asked for a double but got narrow and not very comfortable twin beds.
On the whole I think we were pleased to check out

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you for informing us about your stay with us. We are sorry to read that your stay was not the way you had wanted it to be. I would like to be in personal contact with you in order to come to a suitable solution.
My mail address is francis.windt@accor.com.

Hoping to receive a mail from you,
I remain,
with kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Fromemr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    564
    165
    38
    18
See reviews for
189
439
80
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Mercure Arthur Frommer is very well located in a walkable and gorgeous city. Minutes walk from the Heineken Experience, Rijksmuseum and canal tours. A direct tram to Amsterdam Central is the easiest way to get in an out while avoiding unpredictable traffic. The hotel is clean and feels pretty safe, although anyone could easily walk in. We booked a triple room which was very small and certainly nothing more than a twin room with a cot. The bathroom was actually quite nice and appropriately small as a percentage of the overall room. This is a distinctly average but acceptable hotel for a quick weekend away. It was reasonable value for three adults but I would recommend looking elsewhere for couples.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Oliver,

Thank you for taking your time to inform us about your findings in our hotel. Your remarks will help us to improve our services in the future.

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A little out of the way but nice and quite. Our room was very small and a little tired (paint peeling of walls). However the staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean. Would stay again. It was quite pleasant and worth the money paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Allsion,

Thank you for your kind remarks on our hotel.
We love to see you again in the near future !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is excellent and walking distance to all the main attractions in Amsterdam. Hotel is hidden on a quiet street just off he main road and was just perfect for our short stay.my main gripes are that the room was tiny. It was ok for my wife and I because we were only there 3 nights but any longer and we would have started to go insane. Also the lighting in room is bad and at all times expect a dim light over you. The staff are great and the hotel is spotless. This place is good value for money. If I come for short stay again I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Imraan,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel and for taking your time to inform us about your findings. We hope to may be your hosts again in the future and will reserve a larger room for you !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed for four nights. Nice design in white, black and purper. Bike hire is super! In 5 days we have seen the whole city. Great shower. Staff very friendly. A lot of choice for breakfast. The warm eggs and bacon could be warmer!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you you for your kind words on our hotel, our staff and our service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Amsterdam. It is just outside the busy city centre (10 minute walk) and close to the main art museums. It is a quiet residential street but close to busy squares full of restaurants when you need them.
The staff were really friendly (in fact everyone in Amsterdam seems to be!) and helpful. Breakfast was really good - great coffee and a proper orange juicing machine.
We were in an attic room - it was fine although shower a little cramped for tall people

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We are pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us, ofcourse !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.