We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location§” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #101 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerpen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great location§”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed for four nights. Nice design in white, black and purper. Bike hire is super! In 5 days we have seen the whole city. Great shower. Staff very friendly. A lot of choice for breakfast. The warm eggs and bacon could be warmer!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you you for your kind words on our hotel, our staff and our service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    635
    191
    47
    15
See reviews for
217
525
87
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Amsterdam. It is just outside the busy city centre (10 minute walk) and close to the main art museums. It is a quiet residential street but close to busy squares full of restaurants when you need them.
The staff were really friendly (in fact everyone in Amsterdam seems to be!) and helpful. Breakfast was really good - great coffee and a proper orange juicing machine.
We were in an attic room - it was fine although shower a little cramped for tall people

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We are pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us, ofcourse !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights mid November. The room was clean & tidy. I liked the "Delft" tile on the wall & basin in the bathroom, really made you feel like you were in the Netherlands. We chose the hotel because of its location - close to a music venue we were going to & fairly central to all other sights. There is a tram stop only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, but we stuck to walking to get more of a feel for Amsterdam. We did not have breakfast, but did have a drink at the bar downstairs - prices seemed reasonable compared to the EUR7 we paid at Melkweg for a small vodka lemonade!

The only issue I had with the hotel was being charged for something by mistake on my credit card. This was kindly sorted out by Marjolein. I'd definitely recommend the hotel, the neighbourhood is quiet & there are some decent restaurants a couple of streets down. You're also able to buy tickets/day passes for transport at reception which makes things very convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor facing the courtyard/parking area - very quiet, although there didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us your findings during your stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam. We are sorry about the wrong credit-card charge, and are pleased that Marjolein solved the mistake quickly.

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Hotel is centrally located -walking distance to the main part of the city, Christmas market and museums. 5 minute walk to the hop on hop off bus stop.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Bike hire is also available through the front desk.


Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for informing us that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Arthur Frommer before and chose it because of it"s quiet location, moderate size and general convenience. There was one problem with the room: the lack of space to hang coats. There were better reading lights than I have ever seen anywhere, which meant there was a good focused light for one of us to read without disturbing the other. The shower was excellent, but unfortunately the drier was in the bathroom area, which is much less convenient than having it in the bedroom area. The mini-bar was an adequate fridge. The breakfast was good with excellent service, a good orange juicing machine, and surprisingly good coffee maker and fresh fruit and a variety of breads. Also a news sheet in a variety of languages. We'll be back.
Didn't think the carpets were very practical or stylish

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Marina,

It was a pleasure reading your comments on our hotel. Thank you for writing us !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have travelled to Amsterdam now for four trips so this review is fair and accurate.
The hotel is located in a quiet street off Prinsengracht some 10 minute walk from tram stops. It is in an ideal location within easy reach of all the city attractions. The Prinsengracht area is really nice with several nice cafe bars located along either side of the canal.

The hotel itself has a modern "feel" to it. Reception was efficient and staff very helpful. Our room was 321 and although a little on the small side it was very comfortable providing a good base to explore the city and immediate neighbourhood. Breakfast is served in dining area and was plentiful with a good offering of hot and cold foods in really nice restaurant. The bar is chic and nice place to relax after a day out although we do recommend others in the immediate are (Myrabelle).

In summary we recommend this hotel as a hidden gem away from hustle and bustle of Dam square, Rembrantplein and other tourist areas.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Cammie,

Thank you for your lovely review ! We love being called "a hidden gem" !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.