We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to friends and family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #96 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Would recommend to friends and family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in October and on arriving late we were upgraded to a superior room on the second floor. It was everything we needed for a whistle stop tour of Amsterdam. The room was clean & the service was faultless. My ownly gripe was breakfast, the selection wasn't great but I think that was only due to arriving at the end of service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your comments to us ! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. And we are sorry that the breakfast-choice was limited. Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends and your family !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    610
    184
    42
    14
See reviews for
208
498
84
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for on night in November. The parking area was very small and only 5 cars could park at the same time, and let me tell you that they charge you 45 euros a night which was abnormally high for the place. we found a parking place in the alley which charged 36 euros. The room was also terrible, I mean the bathroom was really dirty when we got there and I am sure they didn't clean it up for us, also the towels were not clean! We also had a very simple breakfast, and I could not find more than one type of cheese in the buffet. Suppose that you go to Amsterdam and you find only one type of cheese in the breakfast, how come is that possible? I have to tell that the sleep quality was fine, and fortunately internet was included too. The location was not so bad, but it was almost a 30-minute walk to the Dam Square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write us your findings. We were sorry to read that you had some remarks. We will certainly sort out what wrong in your bathroom. Concerning the parking : Amsterdam has, as a small capital with many canals, not many parking space. We have 12 parking spaces (6 inside + 6 outside) which we rent for our guests. Therefore we can not offer them for free, unfortunately.

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated: 10 mins from Rembrandtsplein, 15 from the Dam, 15 from Leidsplein and museum district. If you don't know Amsterdam, don't try to go anywhere near the "Center" which is let down by Amsterdammers for "the dirty tourists". the location then is really worse the price.
However a couple a point strucked me in a negative way:
1. Carpet was very dirty and itching the feet. Which give me some concerns about the general cleanliness of this hotel.
2. Very low ceilings on the 3rd floor
3. Tiny rooms/Bathroom
4. We were freezing during the night because the heater is behind the curtain

Room Tip: Do not go to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the location and our services. TUnfortunately you did not like the rooms and the heating.
We will use your remarks to improve our services in the future.

Sincerely Yours,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The only people who seem unhappy witht this hotel are the unlucky ones that got a room on the 3rd floor. We had a triple room on the 2nd, and it was very spacious. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful and the hotel was all very clean. We paid £240 for a triple room for 3 nights, so I think we got a bargain. Excellent location: quiet, but near town. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Great location in terms of cafes and restaurants. Breakfast was good. Fresh orange juice was great. The tea & coffee set in the room is very handy. Free newspaper was a surprise.

The room (privilege) is spacious and ceiling is very high. Although it's on the ground level literally, so no windows can be open. It's a pity.... Also all the noises from the street (garbage truck) are a little nuisance. Carpet needs some serious wash or a change.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
Your remarks will help us to improve our service in the future !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife has stayed here before and really rates it .My complaint ,we were given a room on the third floor which was really only suitable for an average size adult and a very small child Im told all rooms on this floor have the slope of the roof which dramatically decreases the head height You soon get used to it when you bang your head half a dozen times
Other than that it's Ok Staff excellent Make sure your taxi fare to the airport is 45euros

Room Tip: Room on any floor except the third you have been warned
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Edward,

Thank you for your comments and remarks.
They will help us to improve our service !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.