We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O K but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #109 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“O K but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife has stayed here before and really rates it .My complaint ,we were given a room on the third floor which was really only suitable for an average size adult and a very small child Im told all rooms on this floor have the slope of the roof which dramatically decreases the head height You soon get used to it when you bang your head half a dozen times
Other than that it's Ok Staff excellent Make sure your taxi fare to the airport is 45euros

Room Tip: Room on any floor except the third you have been warned
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Edward,

Thank you for your comments and remarks.
They will help us to improve our service !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    733
    220
    50
    18
See reviews for
264
611
98
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have booked the hotel because the explanation of the room mentioned that my room will have a terrace or balcony. That was not the case. Instead I've got a room with a big scary picture behind the bed. Interior was ok, but nothing special. The TV was too small compared to the distance to the bed. The bathroom was small, under water after a shower (no, not because I don't know how to use it), but enough for its purpose. I had a "Mercure Preferred" writing at my door, If this room was for "preferred" guests, I wonder how the normal rooms have looked like.

The staff was ok, but far away from being friendly. Additionally there was a lack in organisation. I stayed for 2 days and wanted to park my car at the hotel (45€ a day compared to 25€ a day at the car park). I parked my car and on the second day I needed to go to a different town. When I came back the car park was occuied because the hotel staff booked only 1 day parking instead of 2 (which obviously made no sense during a 2 day visit).

The location itself was good, close to Rembrandtspleein and therefor is a good starting point.

I liked especially that Mercure has now signed me up for their partner program which I have never requested.
And additionally: How is it possible that this hotel has got an Tripadvisor Excellence 2013 sticker at their door, 2013 is not over yet?

3 stars for the hotel, as it was nothing special, -1 for the lack of organisation with my car and the wrong information about the terrace / balcony in the hotels description..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Matthias,

Thank you for your comments. They will help us to improve the service in the future. We will start a search to find out where is mentioned that our rooms have terraces or balconies. We offer our apologies about the misunderstanding with the car-park.

Sincerely Yours,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights when i was on amsterdam at the end october 2013 for business.
I have miss direction to find this hotel at the first.
The lobby located upstair, so its hard to pick my luggage.
The elevator only one & very small.
The bedroom is nice & clean....also the bathroom.
Overall....is so..so..;)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Duddy,

Thank you for taking your time and efforts to inform us about your findings.
They are useful to us to improve our services !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 2/11-4/11 and were delighted that we had chosen the Arthur Frommer. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We normally stay in a very large hotel just off the Damrak but decided to go somewhere quieter and less expensive. We are so glad we did! Not only was breakfast included in our rate but we saved around half of what we have spent previously. The rooms are a good size and the wet rooms are clean and well stocked. The towels are small and t hin but they do the job! Breakfast was exceptional, so much to choose from and all very fresh. The tea assortment was glorious. We will definitely go back there when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had a Privilege room on the first floor which was spacious, quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read your comments about our hotel and our services ! Thank you for your positive review !

With kind regards, Francis A. Windt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is located between two quiet little side streets south of the Herengracht close to the Rijks Museum. It is well located for walking around the city. Our room was on the third floor with a pleasant view of one of the little side streets. The bed was comfortable, the room warm and the room and en suite clean. My partner also asks me to mention that the tea and coffee making facilities were exemplary. The price was very reasonable given the accommodation. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive review ! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam !

Kind regards, Francis A. Windt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Firstly, I'd like to comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the reception staff, they were all truly professional, well mannered and extremely helpful and always had advice for us regarding transports, bike rentals and restaurant recommendations.
The bar area was nice and we ate here on the first night as we had checked in late - the food is served until midnight which is quite helpful.
Brekfast is OK. Continental options are great but cooked is limited to egg and bacon or sausage and it was usually quite cold. There are a nice selection of breads and pastries, fruits and cereals however. The tea selection is quite strange - I was disappointed not to find any green tea but I will remember to take my own in future! (there was mint-green tea which was too strong for my liking!)
Rooms were fine but we had a problem with the TV, we reported this to a male member of staff who seemed in a frenzie - he walked away and said "I will see to it later!" and didn't bother. So we did not get to watch TV at all during our 3 night stay.
Beds are really comfortable and maid service is good. I was disappointed that there were no fitness facilities but the bike rental facilities are good.
Overall despite the small TV issue I would definitely stay here again. It is in the nicest part of Amsterdam and is close enough (to walk) to the main attractions but is still in a quiet, safe and very clean area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Rachella,

Thank you for your postive remarks on our hotel and our staff.
We will have a close look at what happened with your television and thank you for informing us !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Was in one of their "Privilege" rooms last year - in a corner on the ground floor - which was magnificent. This time we were put in a small room under the eaves on the top floor which was dark and seemed about a quarter the size - you can't even stand up by your bed if you take the side of the bed under the sloping roof.

Had a grumble when we we left and was told politely that if we didn't like the room we should have said and they'd have moved us.

Which I suppose if fair enough really - but be warned that there seems to be great inconsistency in room size here and it seems to be worth checking this out first.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the small rooms on the top floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Cliff,

Thank you for your feedback. It will help us to improve our service in the future !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#80 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#58 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#57 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.