We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #90 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“City break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked a short break through Booking.com, was allocated Privilege room 115 on ground floor which was a little noisy as cars parked right outside the window on a very narrow street. However, the room itself was spacious, included tv, mini-bar, coffee/tea making facilities and free safe. Unfortunately the battery operating the safe ran out the night before we left so couldn't open it but a member of staff came immediately with a master 'key' and opened it although was unable to reset it until the following day when we were leaving. We were offered the use of the hotel safe in reception. The bathroom had a good walk-in shower, toiletries were replaced - only gripe, the towels were the thinnest I have ever seen! Breakfasts were good, self service, good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cold meat/cheese etc. Lovely cooked crispy bacon and delicious cakes which I couldn't resist even though I never normally eat cake for breakfast!
All staff were very friendly and spoke to us whenever we crossed paths.
A point to remember - if you buy a 24hr tram ticket, remember to check out when getting off tram or it won't work next time and you've wasted your money!! We actually walked back to the station at the end of our break, easy once you know your way round.

Room Tip: Privilege Room 115 is on ground floor, can be noisy as cars parked right outside window. Avoid if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel and our services and staff. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us !

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    582
    175
    40
    14
See reviews for
203
475
82
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

booked a Privilege room through Expedia, traveling with a friend gave us extra space and use of mini bar, newspaper daily, not much else. Perfect location for trams, canals and easy walking to many tourist attractions.Quiet location, except in room 214, alley at the back seemed to be a thoroughfare for drunks and domestic arguments..2 nights kept awake! Spotlessly clean and excellent service. Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel and our services.
Ofcourse we are pleased when your stay was pleasant !

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked three twin rooms here. The Hotel is not far from the main tramway and about 15 minutes from Central Station by tram. The reception is standard fayre. The reception staff were polite and helpful. All members of staff were polite. The rooms are split across two floors and all three rooms were on the top floor. In our case, and given I was the organiser, we unfortunately got the smallest room. Our room had a sloping rooflight window only. You could see out of it but a person could not get out of bed on one side for fear of hitting their head on the sloping roof, which started at about 600mm high and ate into the room. The other rooms were facing a different direction and did not suffer with this problem. Shower was very good walk in room type. Breakfast was reasonable and weekends they serve until 11.00 which is very convenient. We paid for breakfast as part of our tariff, I understood it was 18 euro if you paid on arrival. Rooms were clean and had safe and usual amenities.

This review is given in good faith and represents me personal experience at the tome of visit. Others may have different opinions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write us your comments. They will help us to improve our services in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a small hotel close to the canals and very well located, it is 15-20 min walk to most major tourist spots. It is 5 mins to the tram station for those who don't wish to walk. Being in a small lane it is extremely quiet and comfortable and away from the chaos.

The rooms are tiny, tiny for Amsterdam standards too, place just for the bed and your luggage. But the rooms are very clean and neat.

The reception staff was helpful but they tried hard to sell the 'premium' rooms which were the same rooms with few more amenities for 50euro more, they told me they could give me an early checkin only if I opted for the package!

Other than that no complaints, the hotel is pretty decent overall and I would reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
They certainly help us to improve our services in the future.

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Artur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam, staying at the Arthur Frommer.
This hotel is ideally placed, fairly central, with most attractions within walking distance.
Overall our stay has to be regarded as excellent and in no small way thanks to Klaas the Front Office Manager. We initially had a small issue that we brought to his attention and the way it was dealt with exceeded all expectations and made our break even more enjoyable.
The hotel itself ticks all the boxes, the staff are friendly and helpful and this makes the whole experience memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy your initial issue was solved by Klaas, our Front Office Manager ! Thank you for taking your time and effort to inform us about your findingd. This certainly helps us to improve our services !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for my Birthday.
Room was clean and light on first floor with a large window and air conditioning, and faced outwards over a nursery
Kettle and small fridge in room, free wi-fi,safe and a very good, modern, spacious walk in shower.
Room was very comfortable, but if you want lots of space you can book a 'privilege' room at a supplement.

Took the B&B deal booked direct on the hotel website, which included the breakfast at much less than listed rate- it was fresh and plentiful, well worth it.
Good central location, yet quite quiet side street with little traffic.
Supermarket nearby - which didn't accept visa/mastercards (neither did many restaurants) so best to have plenty euros..
Walked to most places, even walked from the rail station -20-30mins but got the tram back as its just a bit too far if its hot and you have luggage to wheel over the cobbles.
I would stay here again, last time I booked a hotel with a canal view, but I think that I prefer this hotel, had a very happy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Maggie,

Thank you for making us feel proud ! We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and 'the service, and look forward to your next visit !

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.