We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Save Saved
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, Amsterdam 1017 TV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
lincolnshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Impeccable customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam, staying at the Arthur Frommer.
This hotel is ideally placed, fairly central, with most attractions within walking distance.
Overall our stay has to be regarded as excellent and in no small way thanks to Klaas the Front Office Manager. We initially had a small issue that we brought to his attention and the way it was dealt with exceeded all expectations and made our break even more enjoyable.
The hotel itself ticks all the boxes, the staff are friendly and helpful and this makes the whole experience memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy your initial issue was solved by Klaas, our Front Office Manager ! Thank you for taking your time and effort to inform us about your findingd. This certainly helps us to improve our services !

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    517
    155
    34
    17
See reviews for
179
404
79
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for my Birthday.
Room was clean and light on first floor with a large window and air conditioning, and faced outwards over a nursery
Kettle and small fridge in room, free wi-fi,safe and a very good, modern, spacious walk in shower.
Room was very comfortable, but if you want lots of space you can book a 'privilege' room at a supplement.

Took the B&B deal booked direct on the hotel website, which included the breakfast at much less than listed rate- it was fresh and plentiful, well worth it.
Good central location, yet quite quiet side street with little traffic.
Supermarket nearby - which didn't accept visa/mastercards (neither did many restaurants) so best to have plenty euros..
Walked to most places, even walked from the rail station -20-30mins but got the tram back as its just a bit too far if its hot and you have luggage to wheel over the cobbles.
I would stay here again, last time I booked a hotel with a canal view, but I think that I prefer this hotel, had a very happy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Maggie,

Thank you for making us feel proud ! We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and 'the service, and look forward to your next visit !

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am leaving today after 4 days in this nice hotel. It is surrounded by a residential neighborhood and is very quiet. Breakfast buffet has zero variation from day to day, but the food was good. Multiple trams are a short walk away.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor with an open window on the back side of the hotel. There is a kindergarten a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write us about your expereinces in our hotel. It will certainly help us improving our services.

With kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I like this hotel, it is simple clean bright modern quirky airy.
It is located in a quiet residential area a couple of streets away from the main drags of Vijzelgracht, Rembrandtsplein and Museumplein. I found it a lovely oasis of calm.

The rooms were clean bright and interestingly decorated (huge repro dutch master!) with fresh linens and a nicely modern bathroom. All the usual storage space, safe, flat screen telly etc.

Breakfast is competent if not spectacular

I lost an iPad adaptor which i left in a drawer and unfortunately housekeeping were not able to locate. Not their fault but a small minus on an otherwise very pleasant couple of stays.
The reception staff were polite and helpful at all times as were the restaurant staff at breakfast.

I highly recommend this hotel and after these business trips I will definitely be using it for personal holiday travel in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for informing us you enjoyed your stay ! We are sorry not to have found your iPad adaptor, unfortunately.

Looking forward to your next stay,
we remain,
with kind regards,

Francis A. Windt
General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed four nights at Hotel Amsterdam Arthur Frommer. It was a good choice for us. We took the train from Schiphol Airport, bought 72 hour IAmsterdam passes and took the 16 (or24 or 25) tram and soon reached the hotel near Prinsengracht canal. Arriving at 7.45 am after a long international flight we were delighted to get immediate access to our comfortable room. Our room was smallish but charming, and the modern bathroom with an excellent shower was most welcome! Later the bed proved very comfortable. The hotel offers a good buffet breaffast, but there are several cafes nearby- we highly recommend Vlaamsch Broodhuys bakery cafe nearby in Vijzelgracht towards the city centre. The Rijksmuseum is a short tram ride, less than ten minutes walk away, and the Van Gogh miseum, the Stedelijk moden art museum and concert hall also close by. We took a Blue Boat canal ride, free with our three day pass; the start is close by in the Singelgracht, opposite the Heineken Brewery Experience, both recommended. There is a lot to like about the Arthur Frommer hotel, not least being excellent value for money and a very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us !

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel because of it's good location (short walk to Museumplein, canals, trams) and because of being a member in their loyalty program. We have stayed in quiet a few restauraunts in the chain, however, this was the first one to let us down a bit.

When we arrived the check in was incredibly efficient, especially since we were early, however, when we got to our room we were disappointed. The entire room smelled like smoke, and no amount of opening or closing the windows or using the AC could get rid of it. There was black stains all over the carpet next to the bed, and the walls were covered with black scuff marks. The bathroom door and bedroom door are so close together that neither opens fully, making it hard to drag luggage into the room. We decided to put up with it, and went to log in online to see if this was exactly what we signed up for, but the wifi in the room was so weak I had to step into the hallway. It wasn't terrible, but it was the most expensive hotel we had on our trip (fair given the neighbourhood, but not cheap), and so we had expected better. We went downstairs to complain about the smoke smell and they said that it must be the people before us, and kindly gave us a new room, which we appreciated. However, when I went back up, the new room cards didn't work, so I had to make one more trip to the lobby.

The new room was better - no smoke smell. But the doors still didn't open fully. No stains on the carpet, and less scuffing on the walls. We tried to use the AC, but it was just a fan, with no cold air, so we settled for sleeping with the windows open to cool our 3rd floor room down. However, the wifi worked better (3 of 4 bars), the smoke smell was gone, so it was fine. The bed slept fine, and the rest of our 2 night stay went off without any concerns. We were grateful for our proximity to the sites we wanted to see.

However, I would say that the roos themselves were disappointing, and due to that, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy you enjoyed our location and that the second room was all right. Ofcourse we are not happy to read that you did not like your first room.
Thank you for taking your time and efforts to inform us about your findings.
This helps us to improve our service.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Small rooms however enough space for a couple for a few nights. We were comfortable. We had some issues at check in with rooms needed around but staff were helpful and it didnt bother us. We had a good experience and found location good too. Hire some bikes - best thing we did!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your remarks on our hotel and services !

With kind remarks,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Mercure Amsterdam
Address: Noorderstraat 46, Amsterdam 1017 TV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.