We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #101 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for 3 nights on B&B. The rooms are on the small side but are quiet and comfortable and has everything you need. The shower room was excellent with all toiletries are provided.
We took the Schilpol hotel shuttle to and from the hotel 52 euros for the 2 of us return. The service was excellent.
Breakfast was good with coffee from a nice machine and freshly sqeezed orange, plenty of differant breads/rolls and lovely cakes and fruit. There was also eggs and bacon if you required a hot breakfast.
The restaurant is only open for breakfast, they have a bar where you can get snacks after 5 if you dont want to venture out of an evening.
We bought the 48 hour canal bus ticket which was a hopon/hopoff service and felt this was the best way for us to get around and see the sights.
We found a couple of lovely bars/cafes within 10mins of the hotel and plenty more en route to Central Station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were happy to read that you were happy in our hotel ! Thank you for your nice words on us !

Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    635
    191
    47
    15
See reviews for
217
525
87
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything about the hotel was great. Friendly staff, beautiful downstairs room with coffee/tea making facilities. Buffet breakfast was excellent as we aren't used to a "full English". However we had ample healthy food to see us till late afternoon. The location was great, quiet but still only a few tram stops or 30 mins leisurely walk to a lot of the attractions. It was our first visit to Amsterdam and we intend to make it an annual event, hopefully to the Arthur Frommer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Neville,

Ofcourse you are welcome back to our hotel !
We loved your kind remarks on our hotel and our staff !
Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Amsterdam is a walk-able city which makes the hotel a great location, greeted every single time we entered from the entrance, free strong signal Wi-fi in our room, clean colorful room and lobby, lobby has coffee maker, tourist hotspot flyers & computer equipped with printer, friendly front desk staffs including the Breakfast room staff. I can't really find any fault with the hotel. Excellent i would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam and definitely coming back to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer!

Although before we arrived, were abit concern on the location as it is located down the alley, we never really felt in danger or any sort as the light were well lighted plus the locals are really friendly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really enjoyed you nice remarks on our hotel and on us ! Thank you ..

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future,
Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt. General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

well placed to sight see and out of the noisy area, so good for a couple or family. reception staff very helpful and polite, i think this is always a sign of whats to come. we were given a good sized room, but had a really bad nights sleep on our first night due to the radiators clanging, with or without being on, so we asked to be moved which was no problem to them, but this room was tiny. the breakfast in basic compared to UK hotels, but ok. if you wanted warm food, you have just scrambled egg or very fatty bacon. but the range of bread, fruit and cakes in all good, but cake for breakfast! the highlight of the brekky is the fresh orange juice. probably standard fair for amsterdam, but would think porridge, and perhaps sausage could be made available. the rooms were warm, lift service always prompt and the hire of bikes at 15euros ok priced. you should try the downstairs bar as they have well priced wines. well priced for amsterdam as the price of alcohol out and about is very high. we often paid 4/5 euros for a wine, and around 3.50 for a half beer, although it was good quality, a pint would be around 5/6 euros! we booked this hoping for good value and this is what we got. recommended

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel and our services. We aim to upgrade our service constantly so thank you for your openness.

Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in a standard double room which was small but perfect for a 3 night stay. The hotel is just outside the prinsengraht canal ring, which means it is a quite area but only a 10 minute walk to the flower market and a lovely area to stay in. The reception staff were very obliging at providing milk on request for the tea and coffee in the room. Only one small issue was that when we stayed the temperature was never above 0 degrees Celsius and with the large windows in both the bedroom and bathroom despite radiators on full the room was at times slightly cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed your remarks on our hotel. Ofcourse we will do our utmost to prevent this from happening again !

Sincerely Yours, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

An excellent little hotel in central Amsterdam, with character And with parking! The room was beautifully decorated and thoughtfully furnished. The bathroom was comfortable and functioned perfectly. WiFi was fast and free. The bar was friendly and the barman well-informed. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of fresh products. Reception were amusing and helpful. I have not rated it "Excellent" for two reasons only - others may find these unimportant:
First, the hotel does not offer an evening meal, which need be no problem, but in my opinion it needs to be better aware of which restaurants are available in the vicinity and to be ready immediately to book on behalf of the guest;
Second, having been pleased by the decor gebnerally, I found the breakfast room to be a sad space, almost uncomfortable, redeemed only by the cheerful staff and good quality of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ross,

We enjoyed being your hosts and thank you for your comments on our hotel !

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future in Amsterdam,
Sincerely Yours,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.