We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #102 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found accommodation to be quite expensive in Amsterdam but managed to get a great deal for this hotel being a Accor Le Club member and I'm so glad we did. It was in a great location within walking distance to all attractions/landmarks etc so only needed public transport to get to and from the airport. we arrived just after midnight and was greeted with a Happy Birthday from the receptionist as it had just ticked over to my birthday so he kindly gave me a complimentary drink voucher which was a nice touch and I enjoyed my beer in the bar the next night. You wouldn't think this hotel is part of a chain as it has a very unique boutique type style that differs itself from other mercure hotels. The rooms were nice, we loved the big artwork piece above the bed and the bathroom was very modern and clean so very happy. Had we not got such a good rate I am not sure if we would have chosen the hotel but for the rate we paid it more than met our expectations. Was also very handy having the computer with printer easily accessible in foyer as booking tickets and printing them off saved us queing for hours at both Anne Frank House and the Van Gogh Museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Ryan and Kate,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel ! It is always a pleasure to us to receive positive feedback. We hope to may see you in the future again !

Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    637
    191
    47
    15
See reviews for
217
527
87
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel is a excelent option to visit Amsterdam. The hotel is very nice and have a good installations and also very good personnel. The location near from the Center od city is also other good task of the hotel. I strongly reccomend the book of Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are pleased with your very nice words on us !
Thanking you for taking your time to inform us,
I remain,
Sincerely Yours,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel well located in a quiet area.
But the door of the room is so poor that you fell sleeping in the corridor, especially when other guests are entering late their room.
There was no ventilation of the bathroom and your towel will not dry if you keep for the next day.

I wanted to make a reservation for a restaurant and asked the reception for it. The young lady that I suppose was not experienced, asked me if I had not a mobile phone! I insisted that she does it but there was no smile from her side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
On one hand we are sorry to read that you had some remarks about your stay. On the other hand I thank you for taking your time and efforts to inform us about this in order to improve ourselves in the future.

Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth wa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We used this hotel for 2 nights, at the end of our APT tour Prague to Amsterdam.
It is very quiet,and a very short walk to the Trams leading to all of Amsterdam.
This is a nice hotel,very clean,staff more than helpfull and good rooms.
The breakfast was in with the tour,and there was a nice variety of food,
Lots of cafe's do a full English breakfast for 81/2 Euros,including a coffe which is a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Always a pleasure to read nice remarks about us !

Thanking you for taking your time and trouble to inform us,
I remain,
Sincerely Yours,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager, Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our 'triple room' was a good size and beautifully decorated.

The location is away from the hustle & bustle of the city centre, in a quiet side street that easily accessible. Nearest tram stop 200mtrs away.

Staff were very helpful.

Our booking did not include breakfast - cost would have been 18 euros per day which we felt was too expensive. Instead we breakfasted at a couple of local spots for less than half the price.

Unfortunately during our stay there was significant building work taking place next to the hotel. This meant that we were subjected to considerable noise from early morning.

Free WIFI was a bonus

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Penny,

Thank you for your kind words on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The works in the street will be finished soon, happily.
Kind regards, Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.