We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the right rate, well worth a stay (incl directions)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #231 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“At the right rate, well worth a stay (incl directions)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just spent 4 nights here, and was very happy with my stay.
I booked through lastminute incl flights, and couldn't touch their price elsewhere.
I think we were almost £50 per night behind the hotel's website price, so worth shopping about for a deal.
The hotel as many have mentioned is getting a little tired, but nothing to a point where it became off-putting.
The reception isn't very exciting, as is the lounge bar just off.
The lifts are just being refurbished, and the corridor to our room was a little dull due to energy saving lighting, but really, just an observation.
The room itself (528) was of an ok size, with a small ensuite.
The room was very clean, and was left so every day by the maid service.
The beige carpet was in fact blue at one stage in its life, but I can forgive that given the price paid for the room.
Whopper of a flat screen tv on the wall with excellent HD picture.
The front of the hotel is on a very busy street, but even so, the double glazing did a good job of limiting the noise of the city.
We were on a room only rate, but were offered a "deal" when we checked in, but that still worked out about £15pp per day, so that was quickly passed on.
There are plenty cafes within a short walking distance to get a croissant etc, and if it is your thing, McDonalds is directly opposite- they do a McMuffin, a croissant, OJ and coffee for e5.95.
If you can stomach it, that is the cheapest breakfast you will find!
Bargain has to be the double espresso- they only asked for 1 euro, which was way less than the menu price. We always got one and sipped it as we strolled to our breakfast location.

I found everything about Amsterdam expensive, but I suppose that is just what you have to pay to be in a city such as this.
Its a beautiful place, but just too touristy for me, which reflected badly on some of the restaurants and bars.
The quality of some of the food was just really poor, and so repetitive.
Do some research beforehand, don't make the mistake of just walking in or being persuaded by
the staff outside. And be prepared to pay- did I mention that??!!

Back to the hotel- its bang where you want to be, with everything literally within walking distance.
Tramstop just around the corner, Flowermarket next door, Rembrandt Square 4 mins walk, Dam Square 10 mins walk.
We were in Dam Square and the two biggest attractions were the Palace, and the Cathedral.
They were 10 and 8 euros pp respectively to gain entry, so that bit of culture was given a miss...

Getting to the hotel from the airport was pretty straightforward:
Buy train tickets from machines in main concourse- touchscreens, x2 to Amsterdam, second class. There are loads of signs telling you where to go next to catch the train.
Takes about 15 mins to get into the city.(Centraal Station)
When you arrive, make your way upwards and exit towards the left.
Before you exit the main entrance there is a large ticket office on your right. If you want to buy a multi-day travel pass (essential) go in and go the foreign exchange desk at the rear. They can sell you tickets there, valid for up to 3 days.
You can buy these on the trams, but only 1 or 2 day passes, which work out a little more to buy.
Head out and look for stance A- any of these trams will take you towards the hotel.
it is only 2 stops- the first is Dam Square, then 2 mins onto Munt Plein- get off here and walk away from the way you have just come, round the corner and you will be at a junction with a building with a clock tower. Walk through the passage way of this building, and the hotel is directly in front of you.
(The tram ticket system required you to beep your ticket when you enter, and beep as you disembark- everybody does it- just watch and do as they do)

So get this hotel at the right price, and you wont go wrong.

Room Tip: If city noise is a problem for you, ask for a higher level room, or one to the rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    595
    415
    195
    112
See reviews for
142
670
87
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

From NH Carlton it is a 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square, about 10 minutes in the opposite direction to the museum district, and a 10 minute walk to the fashionable Leidestraat shopping street and the many restaurants in the Leidesplein area. So for location, NH Carlton cannot be beaten.

The rooms are spacious, but the decor and furniture are badly in need of refurb. I do have to say however that while they might have seen better days, both rooms we had were clean, so no complaints there.

One tip: Forget the 20 euro breakfast in the Carlton, and instead go for croissant and coffee at a pavement cafe, where you can watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Easy walking distance fro attractions , rooms very nice some upgraded some needing done. Breakfast was good lots of choice . We where on the fifth floor and found the room very quiet. Plenty of space in room and lots of room for our three suitcases .

Room Tip: We asked for a high room and twin beds . And a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were 6 people who decided to go to Amsterdam for Valentine’s Day. Amazing city. Hotel was great rooms were big enough. We had dinner one night in the hotel's restaurant - the best burger!!! And the tomato soup was delicious. We were a bit disappointed with the tulips we bought in the market beside the hotel. Picture showed multicoloured tulips ( also we were told that are multicoloured) we plant them home and all 200 were red :) but back garden looks beautiful. Visit everything around it's a walkable distance. If one fancy the Canals cruises then it is a super experience. Don't forget about the city tax you pay at the hotel when you check out. Tip: book a taxi to and from airport via hotel otherwise big surprise when have to pay as fares are. ..depending on how stupid the driver thinks you are. :(

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Perfect location. Next to flower market, close to tram stop, great choice of restaurants, cafés and bars, within walking distance to practically all attractions this beautiful city has to offer.
Our room was reasonably sized with the luxury of being able to open the windows(fresh air rather than A.C.) to a small balcony. Bed comfortable. Staff helpful, buffet breakfast varied and plentiful. Would defiantly recommend this hotel and hope one day to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very good location. You practically don't need any public transportation to see all the best of Amsterdam. The room was big, very clean and comfortable. The only disadvantage was that it was on the second floor facing the Vinjestraat str and the noise from the nearby bars was really annoying especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Probably new soundproof windows could reduced it. The breakfast was rich and tasty in a very elegant and pleasant area. An incident that made a bad impression to us was the charge of almost 18€ For printing 6 boarding pass cards!!!
It was most disturbing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This is an ideal choice when visiting amsterdam. Great location, value, 1st class service and good rooms. The staff are so friendly and do everything they can to make your stay perfect. It's close to all the main tourist areas dam square, shopping and rembrantsplein.
I would recommend this hotel and would always stop here when visiting amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#162 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#168 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#57 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#104 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.