We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be my valentine's pressie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #231 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Be my valentine's pressie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were 6 people who decided to go to Amsterdam for Valentine’s Day. Amazing city. Hotel was great rooms were big enough. We had dinner one night in the hotel's restaurant - the best burger!!! And the tomato soup was delicious. We were a bit disappointed with the tulips we bought in the market beside the hotel. Picture showed multicoloured tulips ( also we were told that are multicoloured) we plant them home and all 200 were red :) but back garden looks beautiful. Visit everything around it's a walkable distance. If one fancy the Canals cruises then it is a super experience. Don't forget about the city tax you pay at the hotel when you check out. Tip: book a taxi to and from airport via hotel otherwise big surprise when have to pay as fares are. ..depending on how stupid the driver thinks you are. :(

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    594
    413
    194
    112
See reviews for
141
668
86
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Perfect location. Next to flower market, close to tram stop, great choice of restaurants, cafés and bars, within walking distance to practically all attractions this beautiful city has to offer.
Our room was reasonably sized with the luxury of being able to open the windows(fresh air rather than A.C.) to a small balcony. Bed comfortable. Staff helpful, buffet breakfast varied and plentiful. Would defiantly recommend this hotel and hope one day to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very good location. You practically don't need any public transportation to see all the best of Amsterdam. The room was big, very clean and comfortable. The only disadvantage was that it was on the second floor facing the Vinjestraat str and the noise from the nearby bars was really annoying especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Probably new soundproof windows could reduced it. The breakfast was rich and tasty in a very elegant and pleasant area. An incident that made a bad impression to us was the charge of almost 18€ For printing 6 boarding pass cards!!!
It was most disturbing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This is an ideal choice when visiting amsterdam. Great location, value, 1st class service and good rooms. The staff are so friendly and do everything they can to make your stay perfect. It's close to all the main tourist areas dam square, shopping and rembrantsplein.
I would recommend this hotel and would always stop here when visiting amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The location could not be better, right in-between museums, shopping and restaurant districts. The hotel is ok, but offer nothing extra. The breakfast buffet is not really good value, air condition noisy, but otherwise quite room for good relaxation in a fantastic town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location, the beds are really bad and the nights are not quite.
BUT we enjoyed our short break nevertheless.

when going to Amsterdan, you shouldn't stay at the hotel much anyways.

All the good stuff is outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

What you pay for with this hotel is location. It can't be beat. Everything is walking distance from the hotel (We only took the Tram once, to get from central station to the hotel) There is free wifi and the hotel staff is helpful enough. For that, it was worth us staying here.

Now the rooms and hotel condition. This is not even close to a 4 star hotel by any means. Have I stayed in worse? Yes but, marginally. Most of the days we stayed, there was only one elevator working and the guest printer was broken (though the hotel staff did print for us, it was just a much more involved process.) I've included some photos. The carpets are full of stains, the chair ripped, the table stained from a previous guest. The washroom was dark and looked generally unclean. I am fairly certain the rooms haven't been updated in decades (aside from the flat screen TV.) The room had a strange smell to it as well. Luckily, when in Europe you spend very little time in your room however, it wasn't a room I looked forward to going back to at the end of the day.

I would only recommend this hotel for location, as frankly, that's why they get away charging what they do. If I stayed at this hotel again, I would spend the extra money to upgrade when I arrive, just to get a room that looked like it was actually clean and cared for by the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a room before regular check in time (3pm), you have to upgrade for 25 euro a night. I al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#128 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#162 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#168 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#57 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#98 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.