We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #209 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. The room was comfortable and clean. Any staff we had dealings with were helpful and polite. The staff in the restaurant were particularly nice and helpful and the breakfast selection was fab! The hotel is in a good location for both walking to certain areas and the trams were always nearby if you had walked too much! The only one thing that let it down for us was the en-suite, which although was cleaned daily, there were cracks in the sink and a scum mark round the bath. That said, we would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    515
    344
    144
    89
See reviews for
112
549
73
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were at the NH Carlton Amsterdam for 4 nights during a weekend. The room was very comfortable with enough space for a couple, small minibar and coffee staff so we were able to have breakfast at the room (breakfast at the hotel was not included and very expensive).
Indeed the tariff we paid was quite high but it just was the comfort and the location of this great hotel. It is really close to any place. We walked to all places and just took public transport to go to the Amsterdam arena.
If you can afford the price, it is a recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for leaving your revieuw on Tripadvisor. With these comments we are able to provide more service for our guests.

We hope we can welcome you in the nearby futher again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

NH Carlton was somewhat shabby and staff not very helpful. Very good location. Not a 4 star hotel as hotwire sold it, 3 star is about right. Would recommend as a 3 star only!!!

Booked through hotwire as one of their "special" deals where you don't get the name of the hotel until you pay. Did it for 2 hotels on our last trip and they were the 2 worst of our 5 hotel stays on that trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for your time. Only by receiving these comments we are able to improve our service and facilities. I'm really sorry that your stay wasn't like you expected. Your comments will be discussed with the departments. We are already improving the facilities like renewing the elevators, new bed, new flatscreens in all our rooms. For the comment about the service off the staff, I will discuss this with the departments.
I hope we can welcome you again, so we can show you that we do consider your comments as important.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Second year running weve stayed here, it is a good hotel, clean and well run! Staff are really friendly and helpful, nothing is too much of a problem for any of them. The only negative is that it can be a little bit pricey but for everything you get it is worth it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and your kind words.
We do hope that your wife is feeling better. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the nearby futher so you can enjoy once more Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I think the only reason that their clients in the hotel is the location
the bath room is very dirty, the room also is derty, the personne in the front disk dont care their no personne to handel the bagages, and no body explain about the hotel restaurants or any information about breakfast
realy the front desk do the minimum

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Unfortunately my wife had the flu during this leg of our trip and we thanked our lucky stars for the home away from home atmosphere, friendly and efficient service. It's a great location and we'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a superior room as part of a trip with a bunch of 40yrs + friends middle class friends.....perfect hotel for this. Very centrally located easy tram ride from station and good bars a few steps away.

Twin superior rooms not luxury but perfectly good standard , and large enough for two people who want a bit of space.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.