We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Carlton Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #207 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NH Carlton Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel was in a great location but very dated. Buy a 72 hour pass that will cover most museums and transportation from the bureau of tourism located by the train station.. NH Carlton is the 4th stop on the 4, 16, 24 tram line. Staff was very friendly and hotel provided coffee and tea bags in the room. We could have breakfast without using their 20 Euro breakfast in their dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    551
    369
    159
    97
See reviews for
119
603
78
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Overall Not a 4 Star Hotel
I stayed at NH Carlton May 2014, Room 611

4 Star Qualities
The room was very large and felt like more like a Studio Apartment. The Balcony was very small but nice. The view was spectacular; but I think Balconies only come with Superior rooms. The Bed was very comfortable; bath towels and bath sponges were definitely 4 Star quality. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The Location could not be beat. You could walk to Dam Square and the Central Station in no time and at least 4 Trams stop 3 minutes from the hotel; but that’s where the 4 Star ends.

2 ½ - 3 Star
The Reception area and hallway leading up to the rooms were very dark, dated and depressing. The elevators were extremely dirty. The furniture in the room was chipped and broken as was some of the light fixtures. There were holes in the wall above the TV and exposed screws. The carpet in the room was stained and had an aura of not being entirely clean.

The bathroom was dark and had an overall feeling of old. The water temperature would go from normal to extremely hot so you have to be careful when taking a warm shower.

My feeling about this hotel is that it was quite beautiful when it was built but has not been updated in quite some time. It felt neglected and more like an updated Super 8 Motel with excellent linen. This hotel was the worse 4 Star hotel I’ve ever stayed at.

The staff was not particularly friendly with one exception, Kimberly! she provided exceptionalI service. I could be tempted to stay at this hotel again because of the location and the great service by Kimberly but I don’t think I would because of the overall condition of the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in our hotel. Only by receiving these comments, we are able to improve our facilities and service.

First of all my apologies for the discomfort you have experienced during your stay.

We are aware of the fact that the hotel is a little dated, therefor we have renewed all matrasses, TV's and minibars in our rooms and we are planning a renovation for the whole hotel. The elevators are being renovated at this moment, so in the future we will not have this particular problem.

I am happy to read that the service provided by Kimberly was excellent, this is our main goal and we are doing everyday our utmost best to let you experience the best service.

We sincerly hope that you would give us a new opportunity in the nearby future to show you that we do take our reviews very serious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

OK rooms in an older hotel. Two of the three elevators were out of service when we were there the first week in May. Signs posted apologized but the situation but we were there two days and saw no service work in progress. I call it average and not poor only due to the central location. Perhaps the elevator situation was unusual. We found the breakfast to be very good. Some times the location makes up for other inconveniences. Hotel owners know this and act accordingly?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are aware of the fact that the elevators were not working properly at the moment you stayed with us. I sincerely apologize for this matter.

From the 1st of June we started to renovate our elevators, so in the future we will not have this particular problem.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city Amsterdam, and we are looking forward to welcome you in the nearby future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great central location, below average service and absolutely overpriced breakfast. 20euro for barely warm average food is not acceptable. Housekeeping service was missed one day and toilet was falling apart. The location is what really makes up for this hotel. Stay here only if you get a really cheap rate.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We loved the location of the hotel which was right beside one of the busiest junctions yet with the window closed at night we couldn't here any noise. Contrary to other reviews we arrived around 1.30pm and got into our room as did the couple before us. Our room was a good size but we did pay a little extra for a superior room. The bathroom however was very old and in need of a makeover. We had tea and coffee facilities in our room but the coffee and milk were never replenished after the first day.

The cleaning of the bedroom was not carried out to a good standard. There was a hair grip lying at the side of our bed when we arrived and it was still there when we left 4 days later and one day we returned to our room around 3pm to find our room had not been serviced. We had passed the chambermaid in the corridor and she acknowledged us but when we went back out about 40 minutes later she was not to be seen. There was however a bag hanging on our door handle containing fresh towels and a toilet roll. There were similar bags on a number of other door handles.

We didn't eat in the hotel as there was such a selection of restaurants around us. We would be happy to stay here again should we be back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location is excellent, with everything being within a 15 minute walk of the hotel.
Wonderful breakfast and very nice people.....
The wifi is very good and works in all the rooms And of course the hotel lobby.

Eli
Israel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We (a family of 5) booked two rooms in this hotel through NH after reading some good reviews. The location was excellent, next to the flower market and 15 minutes walking from the Centraal Station.

We got there around 12 at noon, hoping that we would be able to go into our rooms early, but do not expect to enter your room before 3pm. The same happened to another group.

When we finally got into our rooms (one double and one triple) we were like OMG! The rooms hadn't been renovated in the last 25 years at least. All the furniture was old and ugly, it looked more like a hospital rather than a hotel. The carpet was dirty and the only painting wasn't properly hanged.
And what can I say about the bathroom...small with a hairdryer from the eighties, the shower curtain didn't cover all the lenght so everytime you showered lots of water were flooding the floor, ....

The corridor was more of the same. A few small holes in the walls and dirty carpet.

The room rate that we paid was about 210€ per room per night, so when my parents complained about it they were upgraded to the executive room, which was bigger but old and ugly as the other.

On the other hand I have to say that the service was more than excellent, always helping with everything with a smile.

The buffet was good enough, and the last good thing about the hotel was de 48" flat screen on the rooms with 16 channels, which doesn't make up for the old room.

Definitely not recommending this hotel unless they completely renovate everything.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.