We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location needs updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Carlton Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Location needs updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location for the hotel was great, amazing view, quite loud and clearly needs to be updated but it looks like they are starting on that. I got a great deal on priceline. The street noise volume was my biggest issue. They were setting up for kings day outside in the middle of the night and it was really loud, I could also hear people outside as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a higher level for street noise but it is still loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    501
    334
    138
    85
See reviews for
105
537
68
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have stayed in Amsterdam many times. This time we stayed for just 1 night after spending the previous week in Utrecht and Tilburg. Amsterdam is REALLY expensive for hotels and we 'won' this on Priceline Name Your Own Price. I thought this was a likely win and knew what to expect. It was better than some of the reviews said, but this was mainly due to our room on the 7th floor with a lovely view and quiet location. Check in took forever and at 2:40, lots of rooms were still not ready and most people were told to come back at 3pm, making 3pm quite busy in reception!
The location is great, an easy 10 minute walk from Centraal Station and close to lots of attractions. The room is just tired, very 80s, but oddly it had a massive new flat screen TV! I wouldn't be happy if I'd paid normal prices, but it was fine for 1 night and Amsterdam is brilliant!

Room Tip: High up rooms can have nice views. The road at the front is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in this Amsterdam hotel. I made the booking and thought the hotel looked lovely and therefore I was willing to pay that bit more for the hotel and location. The hotel pictures look nothing like the actual rooms and we stayed in two rooms as we requested a smoking room on the website which we were later told was a mistake on their part. We were moved the next day to a room with a balcony free of charge, which we were pleased about. The rooms where very clean, the staff where nice and the location was also good. Overall I would say that the hotel was very basic and has not been updated since the 80's, extremely old fashioned bedroom decor, and nothing like the pictures shown on the website. I would stay there again as we don't spend much time in the hotel but if you are looking for something nice especially for the money charged, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The electric socket was out of the wall and it wasn't fixed the time we spent at the room. When the hotel was build in the 80's the room hasn't seen any improvement since. Somebody before us drank a beer and filled the bottle with water. Once we notified the reception the person at the reception came and took all the drinks away from the minibar. The room was 180 euros per night and we stayed there three nights. Why would we fill just one bottle of beer with water and complain about it to the reception? The elevators didn't work the whole time we were there. At leat hotel compensated us with breakfast vouchers with the time remaining.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasta, Norge
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

NH Carlton has obviosly been here a long time, one can feel that this is a old hotel even though they have mantained it good. The staff was polite an nice. The food was good, and the room was clean. One thing supprised me: The lack of information. There is a booklet in the room telling that there is wifi, but no instruction on how to connect. The booklet doesen't say when the checkout time is. This was just two exsamples on small questions unnessesary taking the time from the front desk.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here in January, came here with 12 guys so we didn't use the rooms very much apart for 4-5 hour sleep each night. Would rate the rooms a 3* lobby makes it look like a 4*. Not overly impressed, but wasn't too bothered as it was only 2 nights. Would bring the mrs here though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

it was pleasant in terms of friendly staff and location. but it needs a thorough overhaul - manky plaster on the walls, generally unkempt. could be fantastic with some tlc. decor very dated, needs work

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4 | City Center, Rembrandtplein, Binnenstad, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, NHHotels, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Carlton Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.